Customer Reviews for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE

8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE

Multi-dimensional color that’s true to you. 100% gray coverage. Available in 19 shades.
Average Customer Rating:
3.566 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
13
26 of 45(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Review 1 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:pittsburgh, pa
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Beautiful

Date:08/09/15
Pros: Tones & Highlights, Gray Coverage, Natural-looking Color, Made My Hair Feel Soft
" I don't usually post reviews, but I have to post one now. My hair looks beautiful. It's shiny, soft and looks very natural. The medium blond, #8 is the perfect color for me. "
Review 2 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:Boca Raton, FL
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Love the Color

Date:12/04/14
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage, cost effective
" I have been professionally highlighting my Dark Blonde hair for about 40 years. As I began going gray - I would have a two step process - color gray and highlight. This was time consuming, very costly, and hard on my hair. I decided, on impulse, to try to color my hair at home. I Picked up Clairol's Nice and Easy in the Neutral Medium Blonde. It was a very good decision for me. My hair, because it has quite a lot of gray, now looks highlighted. I only do the roots every 5 to 6 weeks. My hair looks amazing and I am saving about $150 per month. Very Pleased. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:Waukesha, WI
Age:54+
Gender:Female

pink hair

Date:01/15/14
Pros: my hair has a pink cast
" My hair is over 50% gray. Had colored it for years using Nice'n easy 103A. Always got compIiments. let my hair grow out to gray about 10 months ago. decided to color again with 103A, now my hair has a pink cast. What changed? Help "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts01/24/14
Oh no! That's terrible! Since we have not changed the formulas to Nice 'n Easy 103A, I'd like to talk to you personally to determine why this has happened. When you have a moment, please call me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. If you reach our voice mail, please leave a detailed message and I will call you as soon as I can. Hope to hear from you soon and thanks so much for being a loyal user!
Review 4 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:WV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Brassy

Date:01/10/14
Pros: Tones & Highlights
" I bought this because I wanted a natural looking medium blonde but my roots turned very brassy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts01/24/14
I'm so glad that you told us what happened because we can help! Brassiness can happen for a number of reasons. When you have a moment, please speak to a Color Expert at 1-800-CLAIROL so that we can help you achieve a hair color that you'll love! Hope to hear from you soon!
Review 5 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Really sorry I tried this!

Date:10/26/13
Pros: regrets
" So bummed about this color, it pulled so red, I'm actually embarrassed! I bought a neutral color expecting good results, now I'm thinking this is going to cost a lot to fix. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts10/29/13
Hello! Thanks for your honest feedback. There are a number of reasons why hair colorings can pull red, including using a shade 2 shades lighter than your current color. I 'd love to talk to you to determine why this has happened. when you have a moment, please call me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. If you reach our voice mail, please leave a detailed message and I will call you as soon as I can. Thanks!
Review 6 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:Orange County, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

Should be labeled red or golden

Date:09/24/11
" I grew my natural light ash brown/ dark ash blonde hair out for the last few years. Finally I took the plunge to start dying it again. I'm sad I did with this. Wanting to go lighter this seemed like a good fit. My hair now looks strawberry blonde! Totally red! My husband says it is totally red and doesn't match my skin tone. I think I will try the medium ash blonde now to correct this problem. "
10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/29/11
I'm so sorry you're so disappointed in your recent application of Nice 'n Easy Natural Medium Neutral Blonde. I can imagine how upset you are, especially having recently jumped back into coloring after growing your previous colored hair out! We want to help turn this around for you. Please call our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765) when you have the chance, so we can discuss solutions with you 1:1. Thank you so much!
Review 7 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

good buy!

Date:09/08/11
" The color came out darker then i wanted it too. My resulting color is more of a dark redish blonde instead of a medium blonde. I don't mind the red so much because I had alburn low lights to start out with. over all this porduct was good. I would have liked my hair to come out lighter. I do like how smooth my hair feels once i'm finished dieing my hair :) "
10 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Trying New Products

Date:09/04/11
" When trying a new Clairol product, watch out. Clairol was one color company that could always be trusted. The new products are somewhat deceiving as to the results you will get. In the case of Nice'nEasy Colorblend Technology, your color before and the color after is not as shown on the back of the box. Comes out more grey than blonde. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/11/11
I’m sorry your color has more ash tones than you were expecting after using Nice ‘n Easy Medium 103A Natural Medium Neutral Blonde. We can help, if you are still interested. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation. We’d love to make sure you feel comfortable with our products and are happy with your color.

Review 9 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Didn't work

Date:08/01/11
" I bought it to cover my gray it didn't do this liked the color other wise but didn't cover the gray I wanted it to do this. "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants08/05/11
Hi. Thanks for posting your review of Natural Instincts Medium Neutral Blonde. I'm sorry this shade didn't cover your grays as you hoped. As a demi-permanent product, this shade is intended to blend away grays on hair that's less than 50% gray and might not cover the way a permanent color product will. We'd like to help! Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765) when you have the chance. Thanks so much!
Review 10 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Exactly what I was afraid of!

Date:08/01/11
" I wanted to cover the few grays I had around the front of my face and crown. And, I have not done anything to my hair in years! So,I went pretty close to my natural maybe a shade lighter with hopes of highlighting also. The bottom turned out great but the top turned out REAL brassy! I hated it! I called for help and was told it would be an easy fix to buy # 106 and apply it. Well now I am REAL orange and hate it even more and now wished I had went to the SALON! I think I should have just highlighted and pretended the few grays were also highlights! Well, they are just NATURAL ones!! HA!! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants08/05/11
Hi. I'm sorry your recent experience with Nice 'n Easy has been such a struggle! Your description is very thorough, so I'm able to envision how your hair looks, and I understand why you're upset. Sometimes, the lightening process while coloring with a blonde shade might result in brassy tones, if the shade doesn't lighten enough or has warmer tones. This is why the representative suggested the Medium Ash Blonde to counteract these warm tones. Since this didn't result in the effect you were hoping for, we'd like to try to help you in another way. Would you please email us at Clconsumer.im@pg.com, so we may call you back at your convenience? Please include "Email Requested" in the subject line of your email. Thank you so much.
Review 11 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Miss my Hydrience

Date:07/20/11
" Used Clairol Hydrience for many years and loved it. It was discontinued and they recommended me to use 103A. It is slightly lighter than Hydrience and doesn't cover the gray as well.. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Dry

Love this color

Date:07/10/11
" I have been using this shade for a while now. The color comes out perfect not fake looking. I have natural dark blonde/light brown hair and use this to color my gray. I think real light blonde hair looks fake this was just right for me. If someone has very dark hair, they might get a more reddish result. "
10 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

New Foam

Date:03/20/11
" I love your products but recently tryed the new foam it was the worst product from you I ever used. The pump
kept clogging and it was really hard to get the color to come out it was a mess. I would not recommend this product to anyone and I am a big fan of the Nice n' easy color blend.
"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Foam 8 Medium Blonde

Date:03/18/11
" Just used the Nice & Easy Foam 8 Medium Blonde for the first time. I had been using 103A and hard to find 103. I like the easiness of the product, but was only able to get it in the Medium Blonde, not the Light Blonde. It turned out a little darker and reddish than usual. Should I go with the Light Blonde, after having perfect results with 103? Please advise. Thanks. "
25 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Frizzy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo

shocked/unhappy

Date:03/15/11
" I have used the Champagne - Medium Neutral Blonde - many times in the past and the color turns out great every time. So, imagine my suprise when I try the Champagne on Ice (05) - Medium Neutral Blonde - and my hair is now Dark Auburn. I do not want nor do I like my hair dark. I believe the wrong product color was put in the box. So now I wonder if this will happen again, should I trust this to only be a one time thing? "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/02/11
Thanks for sharing your review and photos regarding the issue you’ve recently had with Natural Instincts 05 Medium Neutral Blonde . We’d like to talk to you to hear more about your experience and make things right for you. We want to ensure your experience with Natural Instincts is a positive one and truly value you as a loyal Natural Instincts consumer. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) to share the details of your latest experiences when you have the chance. Thank you!
Review 16 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

BEWARE --Don't Buy This Color

Date:03/08/11
" This color turned my hair BROWN. It isn't even close to what the picture on the box looks like. It's like a joke. And I used the "Ask Clairol Live Chat" feature on this site, and was told that I basically have to live with brown hair or go to a salon to have it fixed. I used this Clairol semi permanent hair color (Natural Instincts 05 Champagne on Ice) at home because I can't afford to go to a salon right now, and I'm looking for a new job, and my hair is ruined. It is a weird brown with a brassy gold color that comes out in bright light. I cannot believe how misleading the picture on the box is. Be warned. I don't want anyone else to have to go through this. "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants04/13/11
I’m sorry you were so unhappy with your hair color after using Natural Instincts 05 Medium Neutral Blonde and understand why you’re so upset. I ‘m also sorry that you were disappointed with the advice you were given by one of our color consultants. I’d like to make this better for you, if you’ll give me the chance. You can e-mail me directly at Clconsumer.im@pg.com. Please leave your contact information, and enter “Natural Instincts Medium Blonde Review” as the subject. Again, I apologize for your experience.
Review 17 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

best purchase ever new foam product

Date:03/07/11
" I just tried the Nice n Easy Foam and I love it.
I normally use 103 A but used 8 and it worked very well.
Where have you been all my life!
"
Review 18 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Not quite...

Date:01/29/11
" I'm a natural really light blonde that experienced darkening hair as I went through my 20's and 30's. Now, in my late 40's, my hair is - well, I don't know what color it really is anymore because I started altering it about four years ago with Natural Instincts in the spring and summer and highlighting with bleach in Oct. and January. I've really loved Natural Instincts since I have never used permanent dye and have felt more comfortable knowing that whatever I do with Natural Instincts will be forgiving. (The moisturizer is the BEST!)
However, I'm having difficulty finding a neutral shade that is darker than Sahara yet lighter than the darker shades of blonde. I had been using Sunflower (warm shade) but didn't like the grow-out (gray and warm don't mix, is what I understand, and this has been getting more problematic the grayer I get.) I thought that Champagne on Ice (neutral?) would fit the bill and looked all over for it - almost ordered it online until I found it in a large beauty supply place 45 minutes from home and bought two boxes, anticipating success in shade and subsequent difficulty in finding the same shade later.
After coloring, I have to say that when I put the box up to my hair and look in the mirror, my hair is that color. But when I look only at my hair in the mirror, it is a.very drab color of dark blonde and has no shade variations - something I've not experienced with any of the Natural Instinct shades I've used before. I believe that this the natural color that my ultra light blonde evolved into as I aged - the same color that I wanted so desperately to be rid of when I first started using Natural Instincts and then started having hair highlighted in a salon (bleach, which gave great results but, again, the root grow out was not so beautiful.)
So, I'm not sure what I'll do. It's probably time for me to go with Perfect 10 or Nice "N Easy so that I can get the shade I want.
If you made a color between Sahara and Champagne on Ice, I would stick with you longer because I really do like the product, just not the limited shades. "
Review 19 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Dry

Best Choice I've ever made

Date:01/28/11
" I absolutely LOVE this product! I have always hated the look of the obviously colored, one shade look.
This hair color truly gives different shades and highlights. I have converted several friends to this brand. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8/103A, NATURAL MEDIUM NEUTRAL BLONDE
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Love it!

Date:01/25/11
" I have ALWAYS had my hair done in the salon because I was scared to death of at home hair color. After my stylist left her salon, I didn't have any other option but to do it myself.
My hair is 2 toned...dark brown on bottom and blonde highlights on top. I bought 2 bottles of nice and easy so I could color all of my hair (the dark shade was 118A). I was so surprised at how good my hair looked!! This was the perfect shade for my highlights. It covered my roots and it brought out the different shades in my hair, and it looks SO natural. I will definitely be coloring my hair at home again! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>