Customer Reviews for Dark Golden Brown

Dark Golden Brown

Average Customer Rating:
4.176 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 of 17(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Dark Golden Brown
Review 1 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: reignbeau
Age:18-24
Gender:Female

im in love with this color

Date:12/11/11
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft
" I had never dyed my hair before and was super nervous. I'm naturally a medium brown and wanted to go a little darker. It was super easy to dye it by myself. When i was done my hair felt so soft and looked super shiny. The color was a little darker than i expected and has a reddish tint in the light but i absolutely love it. I get compliments all the time. I'm going to keep using this color for a long time. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: Bugger
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Frizzy

A great encounter.

Date:08/09/11
" It was not my intention to dye my hair this color. As I went to start dying, I realized that I had bought the wrong color. But I was in desperate need of a color, so I went ahead with it. I could not be happier with the results. The color is gorgeous. I will definitely be dying my hair this color from now on (until I buy the wrong shade again!) :] "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: Cassie
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Date:03/07/11
" Great hair color. I loved it will definitaly buy again "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: Honney
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Disapointed

Date:02/16/11
" This is the second time I used Perfect 10. The first time I loved it! However, the color faded WAY to quick-about 4 weeks. So I purchased another box thinking I would give it a second chance. I bought a shade darker then the first one and I have to say that I am very disappointed in it. After washing my hair with shampoo over 4 times I am still getting color coming out when I squeeze my hair from excess water. Not only is the color still running off of my hair but my sheet got ruined as well. The color does work in 10 minutes which is great, but given the price of Perfect 10 I would think the quality would be much better. I am disappointed that I will once again have to search for other brands as I thought this one was a keeper.. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants02/16/11
Thank you so much for sharing your feelings about Perfect 10 Dark Golden Brown. I'm sorry you are disappointed in the length of time your color is lasting with the last two shades you've used. I know how upsetting this is, especially when you otherwise love the product. We'd like to discuss your experience with you, so we can try to help. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765).
Review 5 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: geminiswede
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Hair Saver

Date:12/22/10
" I normally dye my hair blonde and found myself in a bind when my local stores no longer carried my color. I unfortunately made the poor decision to switch to another brand that still seemed to have decent reviews and it turned my hair grey in places. I used this as an excuse to eventually go red again with my hair, but I decided to do a nice dark golden brown to balance out that blue-grey first so my hair didn't turn any obscene colours and it worked like a lifesaver. My only complaint would be that it is a little bit messier than the other shades I've used and there is one spot of my hair that is still a very light brown/blonde, but that second one could also be user error. :) I will never switch from Clairol again and even within that will try to remain with Perfect 10. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: SuziQ
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Dry

10 Minutes--100% Grey Coverage--I don't think so

Date:12/17/10
" I purchased this product because of it's promise to color, and 100% grey coverage in ONLY 10 minutes, and this is not true. I used it not once, but twice. Both times, after the first wash, some greys showed up and after the second wash, whoa! you could definitely see all of my greys all along my hairline when my hair was pulled back. After only four weeks, and only 4-5 washings, my hair looked like it was never colored at all!!! I wonder if I would be better off with a semi-permanent, or non-permanent, haircolor that lasts 28 washings since I only wash my hair every 5-7 days???!!! I am definitely calling the company tomorrow to try and take advantage of their money-back guarantee on this product because it definitely did not live up to it's hype, or maybe you do have to keep it on longer like the other review writer I read stated. However, then they should not call it "Perfect 10". It may be "Perfect 10" for just coloring but definitely not for 100% grey coverage. If they are willing to honor their guarantee, I'm willing to give them another try. "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/21/10
I was reading your review and am hoping you were able to get the help you were seeking from our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL. I’m sorry you were unhappy with your results after using Perfect 10 Dark Golden Brown. Not getting the gray coverage you are expecting can be such a disappointment, but we’re here to help. If you do have a better experience with a new Perfect 10 shade, we’d love to hear about it. You may reach one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765). Thanks.
Review 7 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: cakegirl0905
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Adore!

Date:09/08/10
" This color is gorgeous! I have dark brown hair naturally, and look better with dark shades, but wanted warmth to the color as well. The definitely accomplished that. The color had depth and was shiny.
The one drawback is that it truly needs longer than 10 minutes to color grays. My hair is lightly threaded with grays and the first time I colored I left it on for 10 minutes on the dot and the grays reappeared after the first washing.
The second time I colored I left it on for 16 minutes and the grays were colored a golden color that blended in nicely.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Dobby
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Lovely Product

Date:09/04/10
" For the past couple years, I have been infatuated with reddish tints in my hair and frequented the salon to get the proper color. With summer ending, I wanted a more chocolate color than a fading auburn. My natural hair color is dark brown but a bit mousy, and this hair color is incredibly rich and bold, covering the fading highlights, roots and streaks of light brown completely. I also only needed 1 box for mid-back hair length. However, this color is called "Dark Golden Brown" and my hair is completely lacking the 'golden'. As I was rinsing my hair the color coming out was a mustard yellow, fading into light yellow. I have never had yellow rinse out of my hair, and seeing that my hair is very dark with deep red undertones, I assumed the yellow in the shower was the 'golden' element of the dye, but I don't know for sure. Even though I'm very delighted with the deep reddish brown I now have, I would like to know how I could get the golden warmth the package portrayed. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: traveler6484
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Oily

Not quite the best, but it did it's job

Date:09/04/10
" The color is kind of monotone, not many highlights or lowlights. I have a lot of greys and I just dyed it today, so we'll see how long they take to appear again. My hair is in excellent shape and I feel like it dried it out a little, but again, I just colored it today. The color is a little darker than the box cover. My hair was a medium dark brown to begin with.
I would still recommend this to friends - if they wanted just a solid look and a quick fix.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: JayBee
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Best at home haircolor I've ever tried!

Date:07/03/10
" I've dyed my hair at home several times before, but have always had a friend do it for me. This time I didn't have that option. I had seen ads for Perfect 10 in several magazines, and thought I'd try it. It seemed like it would also be easier to do it myself since it had the comb. It was a difficult process, and I did drop a bit on my skin, but they cleaned off in a day. After dying it, my hair did feel silky and look shiny just like the ad said it would. The color was darker than expected and didn't have the "golden" look I thought it would, but alas a week later- it did! Now it's 3.5 weeks past the dye day and my hair looks great! I get loads of compliments at work for how pretty my hair is and I didn't start getting the compliments until after I dyed it! The only con was I almost ran out of dye near the end of the process. My hair is about mid-back length(slightly past bra band) and somewhat thick with a wavy texture. So if your hair is the same as mine or longer/thicker you might want to buy an extra box just in case! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Scintillante4g
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Better than Average

Date:05/20/10
" It's better than average but not perfect.I love the shade of golden-copper in my dark brown hair. I will definitely buy it again.
But it is not better than the other haircolor i used in the past.natural instinct,healthy look, herba shine ...
I like the 10 minutes wait, it's perfect for busy women.
"
Review 12 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: chickago
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Dry

Would try again

Date:05/01/10
" I haven't colored my hair at home in about 10 years but after being unhappy with the base color achieved for me by numerous salons I decided to try Clairol Perfect 10 on a friend's recommendation. I was looking for a medium-dark golden brown to cover my black hair with carmel highlights, so I chose the "dark golden brown" shade. It came out WAY darker than I expected; almost the same shade as my natural color which is basically a cool black shade. I found the whole process very messy but I guess that is expected w/home coloring. One huge plus is that my hair is 100% more healthy looking/feeling and has a ton of shine. Recently my hair has been so dry that I couldn't use the "high" setting on my hairdryer without burning it even though I have very thick hair. Today after coloring I blew dry on the high setting and no breakage! I'm extremely impressed with how natural looking it is too...but I had higlights so perhaps that's why - it does not have that "wig" look that can occur with one-color hair dye. I am going to go to the salon to get highlights though over this color b/c it is so dark and I feel I need to "break it up." Overall I would recommend this product but would say choose a color 2 shades lighter than you think you need. In a few months I may try the "light chocolate brown." Also, I don't have many greys, but even right after coloring I found some of those short, stubborn ones that did not take color. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: wife89
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

First timer

Date:11/02/09
" This was my first time coloring my hair. I have to say that I really like the coverage. It left my hair shiny. I didn't have much gray to begin with, but I cannot find the few strands that I did have.
I purchased this product with a coupon and I will purchase it again when I need to reapply. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: penny
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Frizzy

Overall good, but faded..

Date:10/18/09
" My first week using this dye was great! but by the second week my color faded back to a very very light brown instead of the super dark brown i was going for. my old color was medium brown with highlights, which i eventually re-did. When i re-did my highlights it turned out like a dark blonde/ medium blonde such as the colors they show on the color palette. I really love this color..and i want to re-dye my hair using it. but i hope next time it will not fade within the first week. i even used the conditioner that came with it (which youre supposed to use every week to prevent color fading) i'll admit i missed it by a day. I dyed my hair on a sunday and didn't use the conditioner again until the next monday..but i didn't think it would make that much of a dramatic change. "
Review 15 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: Angela
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Oily

Fade Away.

Date:05/17/09
" I loved this color.It turned my hair exactly the color on the box.My only complaint was that it fades rather quickly.Also I had a lot of difficulty washing it out of my hair.The color just kept coming and coming.I've never had this to happen before.But it was still rich when I dried and styled it. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: Anonymous
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Dinaya

Date:05/13/09
" I love this color. LOVE LOVE It.. But you just don't seem to have the shade I'm looking for. I want a nice dark brown with red undertones.
Because I was not getting the color I wanted. (you have not come out with it yet) I decided to try another brand. OMG I will never do that again. It made a bunch of my hair fall out. way over the 100 per day the stylist will tell you is normal.
Please let me know when you will come up with a nice warm brown with red undertones. sigh. the color I chose from Loreal was medium maple brown "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dark Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gave me rich, shiny color in 10 minutes: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Left my hair feeling softer: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: ladyd
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

A Perfect 10

Date:03/13/09
" Perfect 10 is wonderful and it only takes 10 minutes. It leaves my hair shiny, with more body - it is great for my hair and helps to keep me looking young (smile). It is never over colored - it is just A Perfect 10. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.