Customer Reviews for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde

Linen, Medium Cool Blonde

Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
10 of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Review 1 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: scotsmom
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

My only choice

Date:03/04/10
"I've been happy with Linen/06 for more years than I care to remember."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Stampingmom
Location:Houston, Tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Does not cover gray

Date:06/05/12
"Used two boxes, allowed 15 miniutes maximum time per directions. Did not color gray at all."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Color Experts11/27/12
Thanks for trying Natural Instincts! While Natural Instincts is a demi - permanent hair color that only blends away gray, I'm dissapointed to hear that it didn't cover your gray at all! When you have a moment, please speak to one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765). This will help us determine why this happened. Thanks for sharing!
Review 3 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: aria
Location:Torrington, CT
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Why Oh Why

Date:10/20/11
Pros: Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage, can not get this shade anywhere, looking for #6 linen
"Canot get this product anywhere in my area. This shade #6 is perfect I always got compliments on my hair. Used another shade#9c everyone said what did you do to your hair??? Now I'll have to color it again in 2wks and I can't find #6. HELP PLEASE!!!!"
8 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Molly
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

GREAT COLOR!!!

Date:10/01/10
"This is the first time I have ever colored my hair, so I wasn't sure which color to get -- but I am SO GLAD I chose this color!! I have medium brown hair and olive skin. This color made my hair rich and beautiful! It is a pretty dark color brown. I am very satisfied and an glad I found this hair color on the first try!"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: kathyshiv
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Linen Hard to Find

Date:10/03/10
"I love the way Natural Instincts / linen works on my hair. I end up with the shade I want it stays true to the color no orange or yellow twinges. Myonly issue is finding Linen. Don't know why but it seems like that shade is always gone. I love the way it makes my hair feel and look but just wish I could find my shade at the stores"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: Marilyn
Location:Texas
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Love this color

Date:05/30/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I have used the Linen 6 Natural Instincts color for a long time. It seems to be getting harder to find. I have tried some of the other colors 8 but they don't give me the results that I am used to with this color. I hope it will not be discontinued. Is there anywhere on line that I can order this color, I really love it and I don't want to change."
8 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: sparkyfromflorida
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Use as highlights

Date:10/05/10
"I have dark brown hair with gray up front and when I use this product it colors the gray only and looks like I have had expensive highlights. I was getting highlights at the salon but they would not cover all the gray and would end up being too yellow. I let that grow out some and them used this lighter product. I can color every 3-4 weeks, no growing out lines and no more long time spent in the salon chair."
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Bleakhouse
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Does not cover gray like Loving Care did

Date:10/13/11
Pros: frustration
"I used Loving Care light blonde and dark blonde shades for years and it covered my gray with natural looking highlights. The new "Natural instincts" "temporary" color does NOT cover the gray at all, even if I leave it in for 30 minutes, and no store near me carries a shade lighter than linen # 6, so my hair is a darker, redder color that is not becoming and full of gray. Bring back the old product, which works!"
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/27/11
I’m so sorry you didn’t get the results you were hoping for with Natural Instincts 6 Linen Medium Ash Blonde. I know how upsetting this can be, especially when you’ve enjoyed Loving Care for so long. Please contact our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170, so we can help. Thank you for sharing.
Review 9 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: Bev1949
Location:Ohio
Age:54+
Gender:Female

#6 Linen Med. Cool Blonde-Natural Instincts

Date:06/29/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I've used this semi perm color a number of times. I am 62 and have a lot of white gray hair in the front bangs. As this washes out, it leaves great hi-lites. I've received compliments on my "hi lights". It is an ash(cool) color, so be aware it will grab. I am thinking about mixing the #6 and #2 Sahara light blonde to lighten up for the summer, but I will need to have Clariol advise on that. I believe that Sahara is considered a neutral shade. I only use the conditioner, not the refresh conditioner."
21 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: EMarie
Location:San Diego, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

Saved me from a highlighting disaster!

Date:02/05/12
Pros: Tones & Highlights
"I have started adding my own highlights to my hair to save money. I've gotten pretty good at it however this last time there was way too much highlight and they were bright. Off of another referral on the web, I used Natural Instincts #6 as a toner and it worked well!! I applied it just to the top of my head where the highlights were. It didn't darken my blonde highlights but toned them down just enough so they blended well and it didn't affect the natural color of the rest of my hair.
Thank you for saving the day!"
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: beautyqueen
Age:18-24
Gender:Female

Never, Again!

Date:01/05/12
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I bought this product hoping to get a very natural looking hair color, and I followed all the instructions, and my hair turned out orange. I didn't know what to do, i had orange hair! When i was waiting for the whole 10-15 minutes it looked like nothing was going to happen wrong, but when i came out of the shower my hair had this orange tint to it. In the light it was worse. And to add to all this distress, it never washed out completely, and some of my hair even turned light blond, and only like two strips, my hair looks funky! I thought, well it will eventually fade but no i was wrong! I wouldn't use this product again, I am very disappointed."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants01/09/12
Oh no! This is certainly not what we hope for when you try one of our products, but I'm grateful you've shared your thoughts with us. We'd love to follow-up with you one-on-one to help with any lasting issues you're having and to help turn this experience around for you. Please call our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170 when you have a moment. If you receive our voice mail, please leave your contact information and either I or my supervisor will call you back as soon as possible. Thank you and take care!
Review 12 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: KarenP
Location:California
Age:54+
Gender:Female

28 washes does not leave hair as before use

Date:05/13/12
"I used this product, following directions, 3 times. After first use, I felt it a good product. I selected a color near my own shade and it hide the gray without notable color change. I used the 2 week packet because it was there. I shampoo daily and colored again completely after 4 weeks, again using the 2 week boost. I noted a yellow-orange tone, called Customer Service and they suggested I did not need the 2 week packet. Again after 4 weeks I colored completely. This time I definitely saw the yellow-orange product build up and in fact my hairdresser has said the product PERMANENTLY altered my hair color. Definitely NOT what I was expecting. I will not be using the product again."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts05/17/12
Thank you for giving Natural Instincts a try! I would like to discuss in further detail to see why this is happening. When you have a moment please call me at the Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. If I am on the other line, please leave a detailed message and I will get back to you as soon as I can. Hope to hear from you soon!
Review 13 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: KYwoman123
Location:San Francisco CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

New Formula Not Good

Date:10/23/11
"The new formula is horrible. First of all, the numbers are all over the place. They don't correspond with the old formula numbers so it's difficult to get one that's the same as the old,
Another thing is that they also have a permanent version so you have to be careful you don't get that by mistake.
Since using the new formula a couple of times my hair is like straw and difficult to get a comb through. Used to be soft and silky. Used the refresher once and hair was orange so that doesn't help. Does anyone know of another brand of non-permanent color? I'm ready to switch.
I managed to find some old formulas at Big Lots and bought every one they had but they won't last forever.
Clairol, are you listening? Does anyone read these reviews? This has been one of the biggest marketing disasters since the New Coke."
14 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/15/11
Hi! I can assure you we are listening and understand your disappointment with the Natural Instincts product you recently used. There were some changes to the pack, including shade numbering and placement of the shade names along with new models. I can see from your experience why you might have had trouble finding your shade. I thank you also for sharing your feelings about the product performance, and I have passed these comments on to the team. I'd like to speak with you 1:1 about your experience in more detail to help make things better for you. Please call me on our Supervisory Team line at 1-800-291-7170 when you have the chance. If you receive our voicemail, please leave your name and number so either I or my supervisor can call you back. Thank you so much!! Take care.
Review 14 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: Joan888
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Now unable to find this product in stores!!

Date:12/01/11
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I have used this product for over 5 years. In the past year, this shade (#6) has become increasingly difficult to find in local stores (in a large metropolitan area of over 1 million population). Now it is impossible. After driving to multiple stores and then calling many more (CVS, Walgreen, Walmart, Target and many grocery stores) NONE of them carry #6 any longer. Clairol customer support claims that it is not being discontinued and that this is one of the most popular colors...but if that is true, why did all retail outlets discontinue it? It is not that the stores are out of stock, they do not have a space for #6 any longer. This coincides with the new Vibrant line release, which also has a 6C (confusing) and I suspect that retail stores had to drop colors to make room for the Vibrant line. I have given up and will be finding another line of hair color, reluctantly."
37 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: lookingood
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

love this color

Date:09/03/10
"I have been using Linen 06 Natural Instincts for over 10 years now and just love the results. I was med to dark brown hair which has gray or whitened to at least 50%. Its hard to tell the percentage because I do it every month and unlike permanent colors it just dosent leave a growth line. According to the box it is much too light for my natural color but by using Linen 06 it looks like I have had an expensive Frosting. It colors the white to a nice blond and lightenes the dark just enough to blend beautiful. My father was a red head and I have a lot of red undertones which the ash calms down and hides. I've tryed other colors like Sunflower and Champagne but they leave too much gold or red tones.
My only disapointment is this color is getting harder and harder to find in the stores. A clerk at Wal-Mart told me it was being discontinued. I sure hope not. However I was able to order it on line.
Thanks clairol for making such a great product. Easy to use and wonderful results. NO GROWTH LINES. Hair feels silky and shiney I get lots of compliments.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Linen, Medium Cool Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: snickers
Location:Newport, NH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Bring Back Old Formula w/o Week 2 Color Refresh

Date:05/04/13
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color
"I was shopping at a discount salvage store when I came across one box of Natural Instincts 6 Linen, and I thought for $4.99, I would give it a try. The product was the old formula, before the color refresh packet, and the formula change. One box covered my thick, shoulder-length hair with the help of a wide-tooth comb. The color came out spot-on to the box swatch, and also the model's picture! I was very impressed. I quickly learned, however, that this was a box manufactured in August of 2010, and hair color has a three year shelf life. The product was old, but still in date. I ran out and bought up every box of 6 Linen within a 25 mile radius of my home. I ended up with three different "era" boxes. (Sorry ladies, but people like me are why you can never find Linen on the store shelves.) The Week 2 Color Refresh packet has generated many complaints of producing clown-orange hair in previously satisfied customers. I throw the packet away. Anything bright yellow can only lead to bad things for your hair! The formula has been altered twice since the manufacture of the product I purchased....not to improve the product, but most likely, to improve the BOTTOM LINE for Clairol. What the heck is Tall Oil Acid, anyway? That particular ingredient was added at the time of the packaging change....as well as changing amounts of particular ingredients, to substituting ingredients altogether. I know, because I have in my possession all three box types with their lists of ingredients, and I did a side by side comparison. All in all, though, this product, even with its recent changes, remains the BEST Demi-Permanent hair color sold in retail stores today. Clairol, please, please, never discontinue this product, and, please, please, never omit this beautiful blonde shade. You could listen to your loyal customers, though, and return to your original formula, which was most satisfying to your customer base, per the product reviews. Thanks, Clairol, for making my dirty blond hair radiant, blonde, and believably beautiful!!!"
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.