Customer Reviews for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown

Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown

Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
10 of 16(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Review 1 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: JudyR
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Smaller Bottles?

Date:02/14/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Gray Coverage
"I have been using this product for over 10 years. Until recently, one bottle was adequate. Now, I get about 3/4 through the process, and I run out of dye. (And I am only concentrating on my roots!) I thought maybe I was doing something wrong, but when reading other reviews, it sure seems the bottle has less dye. So today, I had to buy two packages for one session. If you did decrease the amount, PLEASE go back to the amount it was!
Also, please give us back the old conditioner... the one in the clear/orange tube. I was able to use it all month long and loved it!
The root touch-up packet is terrible."
56 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: Rachel
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

Great product, great color

Date:11/18/14
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights
"I was looking for a change to my normal brown color hair. I had used this color years ago and wanted to try it again. I didn't want red, I was really looking for that violet, burgundy color which is exactly what this product offered. It was very bright when initially applied but still looked good. It toned down quickly after a wash or two. The color lasted about a month which is what I expected. I would definitely recommend."
Review 3 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: 537853gb
Location:Escondido, CA
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Cannot find this anymore!

Date:01/14/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Gray Coverage
"I can no longer find egyptian plum anywhere around here, I have tried sooo many stores with no luck. I tried dark auburn and I do not like the results. Also, the products have changed and it is not easy to squeeze the tube of colorant into the application bottle. Why did you change it? Help!!"
25 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: FloridaMom
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Washed out in the rain!

Date:05/21/10
"Dripped everywhere and stained the bathroom sink. Color turned out a little darker than expected but faded real quick. In fact, a week or so after I colored it, I got caught in a rain storm and most of the color washed out- all over my white shirt! Next time will stick w/ permanent color."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/25/10
I’m sorry that your experience using Natural Instincts Burgundy Brown was so disappointing. We’d like to talk with you to learn more about what happened and to help make things right. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a one-on-one consultation with one of our color experts.
Review 5 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Becka
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

not the best

Date:04/13/10
"I was expecting something a little darker. It made my hair a bright purple-y colour."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants04/23/10
Thanks for letting us know about your experience with Natural Instincts Shade 32, Burgundy Brown. I’m glad you enjoyed your hair’s shine and how soft it felt after coloring, however I’m sorry you thought the color was lighter and brighter than you expected. The result you get with Natural Instincts depends on many things, including the color of your hair before coloring, the porosity of your hair, the amount of gray you may have, the shade you select to use, etc. Perhaps you might want to try a warm brown shade that is mainly a deep brown with red tones, such as Shade28B, Roasted Chestnut.

Hope this helps! If you would like a one-on-one color consultation from our expert color team, please give us a call at 1-800-CLAIROL. Thanks.

Review 6 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: Alanna
Location:MD
Gender:Female

I like it, although it's not what i expected.

Date:02/25/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft
"When I saw this shade i really wanted to try it, this is the first time I've ever colored my hair, and I've always used natural shampoos and conditioners. The starting color of my hair was a golden medium brown, my hair is fine, but thick. This dye made my hair a dark red, although it does not look at all like what was on the box, i do like the color and it made my hair feel soft. Maybe it's because my hair was a lighter shade before I dyed it, but the plum is very prominent. If i dye my hair again, I will definitely stick with the Clairol Natural Instincts, although i will probably choose a different shade. My hair is shoulder length, and one box was not enough. Next time, I'm getting two boxes. It was disappointing there was not enough in one box, my hair is not that long and it seems like that's a problem other people have with this product as well."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: Sexyphish
Location:Houston,TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Egyptian Plum - Hard to find

Date:01/21/12
"I had to go to three stores to find this color.
I do not care for new colors or packaging. The instructions that came with old pack are far more detailed. Also contains information that a person with permed or relaxed hair need! New package/color does not contain any of this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Zhara
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Balinese Amethyst? We miss you

Date:06/27/11
"While Natural Instincts Egyptian Plum gives a good dark, understated purple hue to my medium brown hair, and it covers grey pretty well, and even tho it offers no signs of damage and in fact leaves my hair soft & shiny,
....it still isn't Natural Instincts Balinese Amethyst. Please bring it back, Clairol."
2 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: kitten
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Love this color!

Date:04/22/11
"I love this color! I've been using it for about 10 years. I've had a hard time finding it lately. I'm glad to see that the box was changed and that they didn't just quit making it. This is the only color I use on my hair. Not only is the color beautiful, but it makes my hair look and feel healthier!"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Savy
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

It's awesome :))

Date:01/01/11
"This is the best color ever I loved it I'm glad I decided to go with this color it's awesome :)) Dueces <3"
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: jules
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Ruined white shirt

Date:09/14/10
"I colored my hair 5 days ago, I have wased it at least five times. I work in very warm conditions and found out when you sweat it sweats red all over your clothing. Not happy ruined two uniform shirts. Followed directions completly."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/20/10
I’m sorry you are experiencing an issue with the Natural Instincts Burgundy Brown shade continuing to run from your hair. I can imagine how frustrating this must be. We’d like to help you, if you’ll call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765).
Review 12 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: LuvEgyptianPlum
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Can't Live Without it

Date:09/09/10
"I absolutely LOVE Egyptian Plum!!! I haven't been able to find it in stores lately. The last time I did, I bought every box the store had. I started using Natural Instincts 8 years ago. I was naturally a blonde for the first 30 years of my life, but during my pregnancy, the hair that started growing out of my head was darker...ashy brown. After my son was born, I went to my hair dresser to color by blonde hair to match my roots, but over time, it faded & then my roots were darker than the blonde. I decided to cut & grow. During that time, I used Light Ash Brown to blend my roots & the ends. As my hair grew out, I wanted a richer color, something not so...mousy brown. So I went a to a Medium Brown. A few years ago, when I found Egyptian Plum, I fell in love!!! I do mix half Egyptian Plum & half Tweed. It comes out great. I get TONS of compliments, even from hair stylists...people can't believe I do it myself. I think the reason my hair took Egyptian Plum so well is because I had already been using darker browns. Another reason I love Natural Instincts is...it has been the BEST product for making my hair feel AMAZING. Four & a half years ago, I had a brain tumor & radiation, & my hair got very thin & straw-like after all that. Natural Instincts makes it silky & full of body. I will admit that Egyptian Plum, does bleed & fade more than the browns I have used. But I read a book by a VERY well known hair stylist from a cable channel. He said that Reds do have the tendancy to fade faster than any other color and to not wash your hair until the 3rd day after coloring. This does help prolong the color. Also, I ALWAYS use a RED towel for my hair. And my stylist said my hair is best washed every other day, so that prolongs the color too. Please don't stop making Egyptian Plum. I cannot live without it. Thank you!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: bonnie4848
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Not happy

Date:07/19/10
"I have been using Natural Instincts for a few years now but have always dyed my hair black. My hair is a dark brown color naturally but black always makes it look healthier. Deep burgundy has always been a shade I loved but was too scared to try. So I rounded up my courage and decided to try this color. The only thing that took was my roots. The rest of my hair looks black as if I redid the color. I was really disappointed in the outcome and don't know if I should continue searching for that perfect deep burgundy color. I as well wish I could get my money back."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants07/23/10
I’m so glad you wrote in to share your experience with Natural Instincts Burgundy Brown, and I’m sorry you’re disappointed in your results. It is quite difficult to lighten very dark or black hair with hair color alone. Natural Instincts is a demi-permanent hair color, which deposits color on the hair without lightening like permanent colors do. This is most likely why you did not see the color change you were hoping for, as it is very difficult to see burgundy tones on black hair without lightening the hair even slightly. We’d like to help! If you would still like to achieve a burgundy result, you might need to try a permanent color to lighten your hair enough to be able to see the burgundy tones. For a personal color consultation, please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765).
Review 14 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Snarkygal
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Not a Happy Camper

Date:07/10/10
"I hadn't colored my hair for years and didn't want to commit, so I chose Natural Instincts since it wasn't permanent. Well, it isn't as advertised for sure. Where it gets wet when you wash your face, the color washes out within a week, so I have gray temples almost immediately, but the rest does NOT fade out or whatever it is supposed to do. The box says it lasts for 28 shampoos and there are no roots to deal with. Well, I sure have roots showing. This is exactly what I didn't want. I am now stuck with about 1.5" of roots showing (salt and pepper roots!). Now, I either have to keep coloring my hair or suffer the years it will take to let it grow out. Not happy at all."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants07/13/10
I’m so sorry you are unhappy with your color after using Natural Instincts Burgundy Brown. I can imagine how disappointed you are! Without having all of your information, it seems as though the gray portion of your hair might be somewhat resistant to color. From your description, the gray hair that came through so quickly after coloring is around the temples and at the roots, which is where we often get hair that is more resistant to color. Natural Instincts is a demi-permanent hair color designed to gently blend away grays on hair that is less than 50% gray. For hair that is more than 50% gray, we recommend moving to a permanent hair color to completely cover the gray. We’d like to help you, so you do not feel like this is a result you must just “live with”, because this is a terrible feeling. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation.
Review 15 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: suthagoo
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

only positive review?

Date:06/28/10
"used the color in the past, but not in some time. i like the fact that its not a permanent color. haven't used to cover gray yet, (crossing fingers), just for a change. no trouble with the color washing out onto clothes, followed directions for maximum time to leave on hair and let water run clear on initial rinse."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Egyptian Plum, Burgundy Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: changingcolors
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Shade Runs

Date:06/24/10
"I have been using natural instincts for years, all different shades from blonde to dark brown and reds. This was my first time using Egyptian Plum. I am so happy with the color result. However, it has been nine days and many shampoos later and the color runs each time my hair gets wet. Went to dinner in a white sweater, brand new, and a rain shower passed. My sweater is all dyed down the back. Embarassing. Hope it will stop soon."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants06/29/10
While I’m happy you like the color you achieved with Natural Instincts Egyptian Plum, I can imagine how frustrated you must be to find the color still rinsing from your hair when it’s wet. We’d like to help! Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800252-4765) when you have a moment to discuss the details of your experience with one of our expert color consultants. Thank you.