Customer Reviews for Sahara, Light Blonde

Sahara, Light Blonde

Average Customer Rating:
2.559 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
13
12 of 34(35%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Sahara, Light Blonde
Review 1 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: jadedangel
Location:PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

Date:11/14/14
"I bought this because I wanted to freshen my medium blonde color. I thought the box color looked nice. IT DIDN'T on my hair. The color came out VERY gold. I was disappointed because there was nothing on the box to indicate that it was a golden shade. My hair naturally tends more toward the ashy side. This was NOT good on me at all. I do however, have to say, that most all the other times I have purchased this line the results have been good."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Color Experts11/17/14
How disappointing! However, this is indeed strange as Sahara is neutral shade. It is best that we speak to you to determine why this has happened. When you have a moment, please speak to a Clairol Color Expert at 1-800-252-4765. Hope to hear from you soon!
Review 2 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: Ali4
Location:Los Angeles
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

WHY

Date:02/27/14
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I had been using the old formula for 12 years...it is so SO different now! I haven't experienced the hair "crunchiness" like others have in their reviews, but what I have experienced is a completely different (much more drab...and somehow seems to give me roots now instead of fading) color. I loved it because it made my natural ash-blonde hair much more vibrant, but this just doesn't do it anymore. I've been trying every other hair color under the sun in the last year and I just plain wish they would bring the old formula back.
...ANY chance this will happen?
This new stuff is pretty bad. And deceiving - the box even says it is the same color but it DEFINITELY is not. I'm so sad about this!"
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts03/04/14
Hey! I can relate to your disappointment and I'd like to speak to you about the changes that were made to Natural Instincts. When you have a moment, please call me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. If you reach our voice mail, please leave a detailed message and I will call you as soon as I can.
Review 3 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: gmom2petey
Location:MIAMI. FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED

Date:09/01/13
"I USUALLY L'OREAL HAIR PRODUCTS SINCE I COLOR MY HAIR AT HOME. YOUR PRODUCT WAS ON SALE SO I TRIED 'NATURAL INSTINCTS-2'. WHAT A COMPLETE AND UTTER DISAPPOINTMENT. I LEFT THE PRODUCT ON LONGER TO COVER THE GRAYS. IT DID NOTHING. NOT ONLY DID IT NOT COVER THE GRAYS IT DID NOT EVEN COLOR THE HAIR. SINCERELY, DEIRDRE"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts10/01/13
Hello Dierdre! Thanks for giving Natural Instincts a try! Natural Instincts is a semi-permanent color system that is designed to cover up to 50% gray hair. I'd love to speak to you in further detail to determine why it did not work for you. When you have a moment, please call me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. Thanks!
Review 4 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: KYwoman123
Location:Aurora, Minnesota
Age:54+
Gender:Female

I hate red hair....give us back the ash blonde

Date:04/11/13
"I have a red pigment in my hair and when you had the ash blonde color my hair didn't turn red. You say the colors haven't changed but they have! I will have to look for another brand."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts04/18/13
Hello! Thank you for being a loyal Natural Instincts user! Although it may seem so, Natural Instincts hair color has not changed. In early 2011, we upgraded the packaging and added the color refresher, but the product itself remains the same. But, that doesn't change the fact that you are dissapointed! We'd like to help you get back to a hair color that you'll love. When you have a chance, please speak to a Clairol Color Expert at 1-800-CLAIROL so that we can help.

As for the ash shades, they are still available! We are still producing ash blonde shades such as 6 Linen, Medium Cool Blonde, and 10 Sandalwood Dark Cool Blonde. If you are having a hard time finding these shades, you can speak to the beauty manager at your local store about getting some in stock. You can also click the BUY NOW button at clairol.com to purchase your shade from participating on-line retailers.
Review 5 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: JudyR
Location:Sun Valley, Idaho
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Disappointed in new Natural Instincts

Date:05/05/12
"I have used Sahara or Linen for years and your recent product change is not good. The color is not the same, nor does it stay in well. Do you have any plans to go back to your old product?"
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts05/25/12
Thank you for being a loyal user of Natural Instincts! I would also like to thank you for your honest feedback concerning the changes to Natural Instincts. I will definitely share your feedback with the rest of the team. when you have a moment, please call me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170 so that we can address this. If I'm away from my desk at the time of your call, please leave a detailed message and I will get back to you as soon as I can. Thanks again!
Review 6 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: Memphis
Location:Memphis, TN

My Favorite

Date:02/25/12
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I have been using this product for appx. 10 years & I have always loved it (that is until you changed it). I liked the original product & conditioning packet WITHOUT the 2 week refresher. The product always made my hair feel soft & healthy...but now when I use the refresher...it makes my hair feel hard. Nevertheless I continue to use it because of the color and convenience. Please bring back the old formula!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Blonde
Location:Philly, PA
Age:25-34

Please bring back old formula

Date:02/12/12
"Please bring back old formula. I do not know why you changed it, it was great the way it was before! I have used Natural Instincts Sahara for many years and I always loved the results. I took a break from dying my hair for the last 2 years and recently purchased Sahara. I noticed that the box was different with a new model whose hair is not even close to light blonde or near the same color of the previous package model. However, the top of the box clearly said "Same Great Shade!", so I thought I was safe. I know companies like to change up their packaging every once in a while. I used it and could not be more disappointed! What happened to the formula/shade?? It is NOT the same at all. Even my very NOT observant husband noticed it wasn't the same. I will not use again until it goes back to the way it was or gets fixed. Please do not call Sahara "light blonde" anymore."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Andi2797
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

What have you done?

Date:02/06/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft
"Please change this formula back to the original. How many people have to comment the same way before you realize your mistake?"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants03/05/12
Hello, I can assure you we are listening and understand your disappointment when you used Natural Instincts recently. I'd like to speak with you 1:1 about your experience in more detail to help make things better for you. Please call me on our Supervisory Team line at 1-800-291-7170 when you have the chance. If you receive our voicemail, please leave your name and number so that I can call you back.
Review 9 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: SO76
Location:EAST HAVEN CT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

DON'T BUY IT

Date:01/30/12
Pros: noting
"I WAN TO COVER MY GRAY HAIR,I DID EXACLY HOW THEY SAY,DIN'T COVER ABSOLUTLY NOTHING,I CAN NOT BELIVE IT, I END UP LOOKING THE SAME!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants02/03/12
Thank you for your feedback concerning Natural Instincts Light Blonde. Without more details, it's hard to tell why you've experienced this result. We'd like to help. Please contact us for a 1 on 1 consultation with a Clairol Color Expert at 1-800-CLAIROL. Thanks again for sharing.
Review 10 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: wintergal
Location:IL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Waste of time and effort

Date:01/28/12
Pros: nothing
"I normally use Nice n Easy Natural Blonde nuetral and love it. However, my hairdresser said I should use an ammonia free product. So I switched. BAD MISTAKE! It did absolutely NOTHING to my hair. Now I have drier hair with dark roots and can do nothing about it for at least a month. It didn't even cover the little amount of gray I do have. YIKES! Not sure what I am going to do......"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants02/03/12
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. I must say that I'm disheartened to hear that your switch from Nice ‘n Easy to Natural Instincts Light Blonde was disappointing. It can be tricky to go from a permanent hair color product to a demi-permanent one. We’d love the opportunity to help you find a product that will work for you. If you’d like a 1-on-1 consultation with one of our color experts, please call 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765). Thank you.
Review 11 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: exdevotedcustomer
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Can't pay me to use this product

Date:12/30/11
Pros: nothing anymore
"I have used Natural Instincts non-permanent hair colors for several years. I have mostly gray and white hair, and like that non-permanents wash out gradually so you don't have the distinctive root line as much as with permanent color. I have used all of the blond shades, as I like to "switch it up" depending on the season. I color my hair on a monthly basis.
I used to love this product, but recently (maybe for the past year or so) it seemed not so good. Right after I color, it looks like the color didn't take, even when left on for the maximum time. I made sure I read and followed the instructions exactly. The last package I bought had the color refresher for the first time. My first thought was that this is a burden. I used to do my hair once a month and it was fairly convenient. Now I have to do something again two weeks after I color. Most people don't have enough hours in the day as it is, so instead of making life easier, you have created more of a burden. More time and trouble. Fortunately, I just read the reviews for the first time, so I will skip the color refresher.
Also, I agreed with other reviewers that the packaging is more of a pain. I almost picked up the permanent color when I bought my last box. With the old packaging, my eye went right to it on the shelf, so I just had to decide on the color. Now I have to be more careful.
I used to be part of the Silent Majority, but recently retired and will take the time to speak up. Most people don't have time to tell you why they don't like something. They will just quit buying it and give their business to a competitor. Then you people scratch your heads and have meetings to figure out why sales are down. Sometimes the damage is even worse if people are soured on the rest of your company's products as well.
I don't know what genius thought of changing the product, but it was a big mistake. Was this product even properly tested before it was pushed out on the market? Well, whatever, I am switching to another brand. I just hope you take these reviews into consideration and with other products as well so Clairol doesn't totally end up in the tank."
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: Katie74
Location:Chattanooga
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

PLEASE Bring back old Formula!!!!

Date:12/19/11
Pros: used to be great!
"I have been using Natural Instincts Sahara for at least 6-7 years, and I have LOVED the results. I used to get compliments on my hair color all the time. Since the formula has switched, I cannot get my old color back! It's not light enough, and washes out after two weeks. The new color/formula is way too dark to be considered a light blonde. I've ALWAYS loved my hair, but have been struggling for the past few months since I can't get the color right. Please, please, please bring back the old formula! I will have to find another brand soon. So sad, this used to work sooo well. So disappointing."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/29/11
I just read your review and really would love to talk with you about your experience with the updated Natural Instincts product. I believe we can help you get the color and feel you've enjoyed in the past. Please call our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765) when you have a moment and let them know we asked you to call on Clairol.com. Thanks so much!!
Review 13 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Ericka
Location:ontario
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Bring Back Old Formula!!

Date:11/06/11
Pros: not good for anything
"I have been using the old formula for years with great success!! I am so disappointed with this new formula!! It doesn't work well at all. It doesn't cover grey. Only lasts for maybe a week. The touch up cream brightened my hair slightly but lasted a day. I won't use this again or recommend it to anyone unless you bring the old formula back or fix this one."
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/22/11
Thanks so much for being a long time fan of Natural Instincts!! We appreciate your support and comments regarding your latest experience with the upgraded product and will share them with the team. I feel we can help you get the same results you've loved all these years, if you please give us a call to discuss. Just call our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170 when you have the chance and leave us a message if you receive our voice mail. One of us will call you back as soon as possible. Thank you again!
Review 14 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: WYHP
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Very disappointing

Date:11/01/11
Pros: nothing
"Have used this product for years and I wish I had read all of these poor reviews before using the new formula. The new product is difficult to use and faded after 2 weeks. The color refresher did nothing but dry out my hair. What an awful product. Please bring back the old formula. I guess I will have to use another brand. I am so disappointed."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/03/11
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with Natural Instincts Light Blonde. I’ve passed your comments on to the team. There have been a few changes to Natural Instincts this year which include the addition of the color refresher and a new Natural Instincts Vibrant product to meet the needs of consumers who are looking for even more coloring options. We’d love to talk with you about your experience in more detail so we can help. Please call our Supervisory line at 1-800-291-7170 when you have the chance, so we can offer you the personalized service you deserve. Thanks again!
Review 15 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: wdfasdfasdfasdf
Location:California
Age:54+
Gender:Female

BRING BACK OLD FORMULA

Date:10/31/11
"Obviously I am not the only one who dislikes your new formula. Have used Natural Instincts Sahara for 10 years and it was perfect. The new formula leaves my hair frizzy, color refresher is orange and the amount of product has shrunk as well. I do not understand why Clairol wants to loose so many customers!? My purchase price was refunded, but I still need a good product to cover my gray and freshen my color. Please, listen to your customers and bring back the original formula!"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/03/11
Hi! We are listening and do truly care if you're unhappy with the changes made to your Natural Instincts product. While I'm glad you were refunded for the cost of the product, our Supervisory Team would love to talk with you to help you get the results you're used to. Please call us at 1-800-291-7170 and leave a message if you receive our voicemail. We'll be sure to call you back as soon as we can.
Review 16 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: DMK25
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Bring back the old formula!!!

Date:10/19/11
"I was happy to see a new formula, thinking, "how could they improve on what was already a great product?" But, alas, it was not the case. I feel like the color washed out in a week and the color touch up thing was kind of a joke. I have been using this color for a good 10 years when I want to go a little longer in between highlights. Too bad, now I have to look elsewhere."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/08/11
Please, we truly value you as a long time Natural Instincts fan and would love the opportunity to help you feel better about us and the Natural Instincts brand you've enjoyed. From your description, I understand why you're upset but feel I can help. Please call me on our Supervisory Team number at 1-800-291-7170. If you receive our voicemail, please leave your name and number and either I or my Supervisor will call you back. Thank you so much.
Review 17 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Tris
Location:NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

I miss the old Natural Instincts!!!!!

Date:10/16/11
Pros: memories only!
"ARG! My hair is orange! ORANGE! After over ten years of using NI Sahara, I had a baby and so didn't colour for about a year. I tried going back to my usual routine with ghastly results. What happened? At first I blamed myself - that my natural colour must have created this dreadful colour, but after reading all these reviews...now I know - you went and changed this terrific product, didn't you? My hair used to be soft and silky and blonde. Why did you change a perfect product? I'm soooo disappointed. Unless I get an email telling me that you are changing back to the old formula, then I guess it's back to the drawing table for me and my hair. What a shame."
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/07/11
I'm grateful you've shared your most recent experience using Natural Instincts with us. I've shared your comments with the team and want you to know I do understand how disappointing this must have been - especially after loving this shade for so many years! We'd love to talk with you one-on-one about your experience in more detail, as we'd like to help you feel better about us and also help you to get the same color results you've enjoyed all this time. While there have been some changes to the pack, the actual tint and developer formulas have not changed. If you'd like to go ahead and try this product again before calling us, you might want to try applying the color to damp hair as you've probably done in the past. We'd like to help you personally, though. Please call our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170 and leave your name and number if you receive our voice mail. Either I or my supervisor will call you back as soon as possible. Thank you again.
Review 18 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: ladyofthering
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Mistake Proof!

Date:05/02/11
"*Sahara or Light blonde 02 is the absolute best at home toner available.
* It works on Platinum to any light blonde shade or any virgin natural light blonde.
* you get way more then you pay for as the product is fail proof when used as directed.
I bleach my hair to light blonde and it has helped me many time blend my root touch up with my already bleached hair often muting any brassy tones and blending any difference in the new growth and the previousy bleached hair.
The new box does not reflect how light your hair can remain. the new box looks darker then it woudl turn out on light or very light blonder hair!"
15 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: harden92
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Frizzy

Great Experience

Date:01/13/11
"I've had some real disasters with hair color in the past, but Natural Instincts was easy to use, and the end result was great. My hair is very shiny, and even has a bit more body. I'll definitely use it again."
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sahara, Light Blonde
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Anonymous
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Avoid

Date:12/08/10
"Although my hair is softer it did not change my color at all!! Very disappointing. I will never buy this product again. I wish I had before and after pictures, but I don't. It didnt dawn on me Clairol would let me down like this. I should have stuck with Nice n Easy. Now I'm gonna go back to Revlon. What a waste of money. Ya, I'm mad! Its Christmas time its not like its good to dye your hair two days in a row. I only used it cuz I had a coupon"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/15/10
I'm so sorry you are so upset after using Natural Instincts Light Blonde. Without some additional information, such as the color of your hair before coloring, it's hard to know why you didn't see a difference in your color with this shade. One thing might be that if you are used to using permanent hair color products, Natural Instincts performs differently as a demi-permanent. This shade, although it is a light blonde shade, can only deposit color on hair that is light blonde or lighter and will not lighten darker hair. If your hair is darker, and you are looking for lightening, you will probably need to stay with permanent color. We'd like to help you find just the right shade for you. Please call one of our color experts for a one-on-one color consultation when you have the chance.
1 2 next>>