Customer Reviews for Suede, Light Brown

Suede, Light Brown

Average Customer Rating:
3.346 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
13
3 stars
7
2 stars
9
1 star
8
30 of 52(58%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Suede, Light Brown
Review 1 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: TammyE
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Good Product Overall

Date:01/27/14
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I have used this brand & color for several years and it gives me a very natural looking color and does a pretty good job of covering my gray as long as I leave it on an extra 5 minutes. I do also have to color every 3-4 weeks, due to the gray roots. My hair feels great and is shiny after rinsing & conditioning, but the "refresher pack" is a JOKE! DO NOT put it on your hair!!!
Clairol what were you thinking????
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Color Experts02/07/14
Hello! We hear you loud and clear! We have since removed the refresher packets from our Natural Instincts color kits! Like you, many women expressed their disappointment with the refresher. You can now enjoy using Natural Instincts without having to worry about the results. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!
Review 2 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: Chrizd
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

SUPERB COLOR

Date:01/24/14
Pros: Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage, refreshing current color
"I just tried natural instincts in suede/brown #13. I was trying to cover stray grays and refresh my brown hair. This is a very pretty brown. My hair was on the lighter brown side when I applied it and it toned it down without being very dark. The grays are covered and the color looks refreshed! I washed my hair the day before applying and treated the ends with conditioner well. I left it on about 12 minutes. I think if I left it in an additional 5 it would have been a tad darker. I am so pleased that it looks so natural and feels incredibly soft! I also like there is no stinging on my scalp from this product! Thank you Clariol for NOT adding ammonia! Even with the peroxide, I could tell a huge difference without ammonia! The included conditioner is a bonus and really felt good after combing out my hair. It would be great if there was a brush added in with the box so you could "paint" the temples better since the bottle is a bit messy. I will definitely use this again with root touch up! *Please make an ammonia free root touch up!♥"
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: NJK63
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:54+
Gender:Female

The Best

Date:10/13/13
Pros: Gray Coverage
"Been using this for years and years from when I had just a few grays to now, that I'm all gray. Reading other reviews, I see that most people don't like - HATE actually - the color refresher, as do I. It's horrible! Not easy to use, hate the way my hair feels, and worst of all, turns my hair and scalp orange-y red - horrible!!!!! What I don't understand is - why doesn't Clairol read these reviews and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT? Either change the color, eliminate it altogether, or make it a stand-alone product for those handful of people who actually like it!"
40 of 77 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: lindy737
Location:Missouri
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Excellent Product but please stop the Color Fresh!

Date:08/20/13
Pros: Gray Coverage
"I have read many reviews to see if other people agreed with me. Yes, they do. Not many customers like the Color Refresher. Everyone is throwing it away. As an environmental concern alone, please stop including it, or offer it as stand alone product to those customers who want it. Otherwise, I think Natural Instincts is a great product."
16 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: KYwoman123
Location:Ohio
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Dissappointed many year user of Natural Instincts

Date:12/06/12
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I have been using this product for many years.
I am not happy with the 2 week touch up color and procedure to use it.
It is messy and it is not the color of the first application color. It is red instead of brown. It also does not color the gray as the first application of color.
I like the first application color because it is natural to my own color, except it does not cover the gray as it used to.
I like that it is a nonpermanent hair color.
I am looking for other products that will color gray for a longer period of time and make my hair looking my natural color.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Color Experts12/07/12
It's hard to hear such disappointment from a loyal Natural Instincts user. I would like to thank you for sharing your feelings about Natural Instincts. I've passed your comments on to the team. Your comments will help us to evaluate and improve our products and services. Thanks again for sharing.
Review 6 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: tnbaby
Location:Bluefield, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Brown to Red

Date:06/01/12
Pros: Gray Coverage
"When I first used this product, had great results. Loved the shade of light brown. However, when I used the color revitalizer 2 weeks after the initial coloring, my hair turned a bright, clownlike orange. I've colored my hair many times and never had this happen before. After washing it 5 times, it is still orange and blotchy. Will never use it again."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nickname: jsvermont
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Is it possible to bring back the old formula?

Date:03/30/12
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I've been reading many, many negative reviews of the new formula. Most suggest throwing the refresher packets away. Is Clairol listening? When I emailed my bad experience with the new formula and refresher packet, I received a coupon. A nice response, to be sure, but it felt to me as if no one was listening."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants04/09/12
Hello, I can assure you we are listening and understand your disappointment with the changes to Natural Instincts. I would like to thank you for sharing your feelings about Natural Instincts. I've also passed your comments on to the team. Your comments will help us to evaluate and improve our products and services. Thanks again for sharing.
Review 8 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: Risa
Location:Coffeyville, KS
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Yikes to the follow-up application

Date:03/22/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Gray Coverage
"I have used Natural Instincts for many years and just love the product. However, I don't particularly care for the follow-up process. Although I try to take care of my hair in a timely fashion, the thought of applying something again just a few weeks later does not intrigue me. I prefer applying the color once a month and to be done with it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: Noggy
Location:Herndon, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

Good Inital Coloring but stay away from 2 week touchup

Date:03/18/12
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I really liked the initial coloring. I have 60% grey hair. It did not completely cover the grey, but rather turned them into highlights, and it looked really good, more natural. However, when I used the 2 Week touch up, it looked like I had put that "tan in a bottle" on my hair. Very orange looking. Next time I will skip that an just dye again earlier."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: abner
Location:Kettering, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Natural Instincts #13 Light Brown

Date:03/18/12
Pros: nothing
"I have been using Natural Instincts between 10-12 years. It has always been a wonderful product until now. This newest box style gives a terrible outcome. Color is reddish but worst of all is the FRIZZ! The packet of refresher is even more red color and useless. Who wants to fool with color again after only 2 weeks. Less conditioner is not good either. I have been hunting down the old style boxes anywhere I can find them. I had to use a new box recently and the out come was horrific!!!!
I am going to have to go get a haircut and cut alot off to get rid of the frizz. Some drugstores still have a few of the old style boxes around if you can grab them fast! This is truly a GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT!
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: AmyM
Location:Gulfport, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female

I am very pleased

Date:02/19/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I am very pleased with the Suede Light Brown 13. I had my hair died a permanent color, a light brown color with too much brassy color, my natural hair color, which is medium brown, almost a dark medium brown, was showing about 3 inches of roots. I am very happy that the natural instincts #13 blended my hair and now it looks a natural light brown color and the brassy red color is toned down to almost completely gone. The only thing that I disliked is that one bottle isn't quite enough. I have shoulder length hair but it is very fine, and I would hate to have to buy two bottles when one is almost enough but not quite. I think if I had used two bottles it would look even better, it would look more even. So next time I will use two bottles. Also, the gloves are too thin and I did realize one had a hole in it and I have a large dark brown spot on my hand but that's my own fault for not paying attention. I will not use the color revitalizer or whatever that packet is because I have read some horror stories about it. Overall, I am very happy at how much better my hair looks and feels."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: KellyxLove
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Deeply Disappointed

Date:02/05/12
"Natural Instincts has been my one and only color product for many years, and the product I always recommended to others. But I'm afraid to try the new version, I really am! I have heard nothing good about it, nothing, it seems to be a truly awful step backward. I feel lost, I completely depended on it and had the whole routine and shades well figured out. I have one box of the original product left. I feel that I have to begin researching other products now, most unhappily. I signed up for your newsletter just in case there's news of a comeback of the old product, though by then I will most likely have a new routine in place. Please please bring it back, EXACTLY as it was, and quickly!"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nickname: Joan
Location:wisconsin
Age:54+
Gender:Female

New Formulation Bad Idea

Date:01/07/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I never understand why companies change a wonderful product. I have been using Natural Instincts for years to cover gray roots in between my permanent salon hair coloring. It has always done a fabulous job of covering the roots and has been a dream to apply. Now the formulation has changed!!! Applying to dry hair is a mess and the product is gone before I've covered all the roots, so I still apply to wet hair as before. And what's with the red revitalizer that is supposed to be applied 2 weeks later? I get pink/orange roots and scalp and comments from friends asking what's going on with my hair. I won't use the revitalizer anymore. I'm so disappointed that you've taken a perfect application and ruined it. With much regret, I will be looking at other products from your competitors to find something equal to your previous formulation. Please change back to your old formula!!! And the stores are displaying both the permanent and temporary boxes side by side on the shelves which makes it hard to distinguish which is which since it's no longer clearky marked on the front of the box which is permanent and which washes out gradually. I miss my old formula!!!!!!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants01/09/12
I want to thank you for leaving your comments about the Natural Instincts product you recently applied. From your description, I certainly understand why you're feeling disappointed by the recent updates and are reluctant to use it again. If you'd like to try once more, you may go ahead and apply it the way you always have in the past, following the damp hair application and same timing you're used to. I'd like to talk about this with you 1-on-1. Please call our Supervisory line at 1-800-291-7170 and leave a message if you receive our voice mail. Either I or my supervisor will call you back as soon as possible. Thank you so much
Review 14 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: lumorrell
Location:Gorham, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Did not cover all of my grays and I am not happy that I have to do this process a second time.

Date:12/31/11
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"This color did not cover all my gray hairs. I am looking for another job and I am on a limited income. Was not happy that I have to go thru this process a second time and pay even more money."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants01/18/12
Thanks for sharing your experience after using Natural Instincts Suede, Light Brown. I understand why you're upset with the results. Natural Instincts is a demi-permanent product that is designed to use on hair that is less than 50% gray and provides gray blending. I’d love to help you find a product that will cover your grays and give you the beautiful color you desire. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a one-on-one consultation with one of our color experts. Thanks.
Review 15 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nickname: ladytech
Location:Denver, CO
Age:54+
Gender:Female

New color booster turns hair red

Date:12/30/11
"I have been using Natural Instincts for quite some time, shade 13 Light Brown. I recently bought a new package (changed carton style, plus addition of 2-wk booster). The basic color treatment did not cover the gray as well as it used to, and seemed to wash out much faster than previously, but it was true to color. When I tried the new color booster, it turned my hair an obnoxious shade of red. I can't believe you tested this very well, as I have just seen more than one online review on your website today stating the same problem. Wish I'd read them before I tried the booster. Bottom line: don't like the new, "improved" product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: Scoobie
Location:Marion, Ohio
Age:54+
Gender:Female

I prefer tho old Natural Instincts Suede #13

Date:12/29/11
"I have used natural instincts Suede #13 for several years and have loved the results and how it made my hair feel. Unfortunately I am having trouble finding it in the stores and have had to resort to using the New "10 Minute" version. It does not give the same results at all!! It does not cover the gray well and barely lasts a week! The 2 week enhancer turned my hair an orange shade of brown. I do hope the old version is not discontinued. This 10 minute version is not worth it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: marwan
Location:GA
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Disappointed

Date:12/25/11
Pros: Gray Coverage
"I have been using this product for a VERY long time, and have LOVED it! It was one of the few products that was semi-permanent, mild on the hair and had good coverage. The new formula is very disappointing, does not last as long, and the 10 day booster turned my scalp orange. I've searched everywhere looking for the former product, and when I find it, buy it all. But most places carry only the new formula. Please bring the old product back. It was fabulous!"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/29/11
Hi! I can assure you we are listening and understand your disappointment with the Natural Instincts product you recently used. I thank you also for sharing your feelings about the product performance, and I have passed these comments on to the team. I'd like to speak with you 1:1 about your experience in more detail to help make things better for you. Please call me on our Supervisory Team line at 1-800-291-7170 when you have the chance. If you receive our voicemail, please leave your name and number so either I or my supervisor can call you back. Thank you so much!! Take care.
Review 18 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname: Mach
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Does not cover gray

Date:12/19/11
Pros: Natural-looking Color
"I have used Natural Instincts for some years since it is mild and covered the grays. Now Clairol has changed its formula. I do not like this. First, the 10 minutes is deceptive, because after two weeks you have to treat again for 10 minutes (it was much easier to do it once for 20 minutes). Second, my grays were not covered even though I treated for 15 minutes, the maximum allowed. Third, the conditioning treatment is not as good and the tube is smaller. Please, give me the old stuff back. I loved it!!!"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/29/11
I just read your review and really would love to talk with you about your experience with the updated Natural Instincts product. I believe we can help you get the color and feel you've enjoyed in the past. Please call our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765) when you have a moment and let them know we asked you to call on Clairol.com. Thanks so much!!
Review 19 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: dingaling
Location:missouri
Age:18-24
Gender:Female

Color was awesome but the revitalizer is terrible!!!

Date:12/10/11
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color
"The color turned out awesome, came out the way I expected. 2 weeks later I used the revitalizer like the directions told me to... big mistake!!! It turned the top layers of my hair a reddish orange shade!! I'm not sure what to do, thinking about getting another box of color and hoping it turns out the way it did before but I'm scared to. Anybody else have the same problem, what did you do???"
165 of 231 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Suede, Light Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: Darln
Location:Alabama
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Bring the old colors back.

Date:11/09/11
Pros: making a mess of your hair
"I wish I could find the old Suede color. I have used Natural Instincts for more than 7 year now, and I do not like the new formula. I do not know what you have done, but it does not last, I can not find a color that looks natural and the refresh product you have added is really, really bad. Turned by scap and hair red, no matter what color i have tried. I just throw it away now. This is the last time I will ever use this product. I was not surprised, when I finally came to this website to see all of the negative feedback. Are you listening? Do you really care?"
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants11/14/11
I've read your comments and understand why you want to walk away. I'd love the chance to talk with so I can help turn this experience around for you and offer you the same great color results you enjoyed with Natural Instincts before. Please call me on our Supervisory line at 1-800-291-7170. If we're away from our desks, please leave your name and number so I can call you back as soon possible. Thanks!
1 2 3 next>>