Customer Reviews for Natural Medium Brown

Natural Medium Brown

Multi-dimensional color that’s true to you. 100% gray coverage. Available in 45 shades.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
6
11 of 20(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Natural Medium Brown
Review 1 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Thought I got lucky...

Date:02/06/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights
" My natural hair is darkest brown with some red/orange strands that make it look lighter at times. I have random grey strands and noticable grey anywhere my hair is parted. I had only used semi-permanent before this. I really thought I got lucky with my first pick for permanent: 118 Natural Medium Brown.
I LOVED how my hair felt and looked. It was soft and shiny and had a beautiful color-- almost identical to when I was younger. I loved it up until Day 4 or 5 when the greys started to fight back and win. I still liked it until about day 10 when I began to notice a copper penney glow on top of my head.
Soon after the top two inches of my hair got lighter and lighter and the bottom lost the light tones and started looking color-built-black. It was not attractive and I feared the top was going to turn tangerine.
I called my brutally honest (home color experienced) sister and she thought I must have botched the instructions and started in wrong place and not left it in long enough. She told me it wasn't orange but was definitely two shades lighter on top and that she could see the greys and a copper glow. Ugh!
She told me to wait a full six weeks from when I colored and try again, leave in 45 minutes and make sure to follow the instructions for not a first-timer.
It looked just as beautiful the next try and the 45 minutes did keep the grey in check for 3 weeks but the copper glow and lightening (even lighter than last time) happened again so I need a different color but I love how the dye treats my hair.
I still recommend the color to people who have lighter hair than is on the box or darker hair but without any warm tones in natural hair.
I was going to try 120 but I see orange issues there too. I hate to be forced to get rid of all my natural warm tones with a cool/ash color but this copper glow must go! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Thank You Clairol!

Date:02/20/11
" What can I say, thank god for at home hair dye ! The day before my birthday, my new shampoo turned my highlighted blonde hair red ! So I set out to the shop (with a hat on of course) to find a dark brown to cover my newly reddened hair. There are a million differant brands and shades, but I picked up this one as it first caught my eye. So once I got home, dyed my hair at home for the first time, and VOILA! I was so suprised, it was a bit darker than expected but I love it! Its slightly darker than my natural colour but I've received a LOT of great compliments since. I also use this to dye my extensions to match my hair and people are so amazed to find out its not my real hair because of the perfectly matched colour! Absolutely love the Colourseal Conditioning Gloss that comes with it, I buy it for like €1.20 when Im not dying my hair and it makes my hair so soft, managable and hydrated. Im re-dying my hair tonight with this same shade, and I have no fear of messing it up after the first 2 experiances I had with it :D "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Frizzy

Will Not Purchase Again

Date:12/30/10
" Having previously used Natural Black by nice n easy, I got my hair stripped because it didnt suit me at all. I was still adamant to change my naturally medium brown hair colour to something a bit more interesting. So i bought this dye in hopes of achieving the result on the back of the box for medium brown hair. I applied the dye and left it in for 30 minutes, the same as my strand test (which turned out a less red version of the result on the back of the box). It appeared to be fine as the dye was in my hair, although i did think at one point it looked dark. But i left it in, and washing out was messy. The shower was like a murder scene. I conditioned my hair with the conditioner provided and hopped out of the shower, excited for my result. To my dismay, after i dried my hair, it was jet black!!! I have absolutely no idea why my hair turned out so dark, but i definitely know i will never use this shade ever again! "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants01/11/11
I’m so sorry your experience with Nice ‘n Easy to this point has been disappointing and that your latest application of shade 118E, Natural Medium Mahogany Brown resulted in a color much darker than you had hoped. It’s hard to know why you had this result without a little more information. Would you mind giving us a call when you have the chance, so we can help with the issues you’ve experienced? Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765). Thanks.
Review 4 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Could have been better......

Date:01/02/11
" After getting some tips from my salon, I decided to go with this shade and try it myself. i've had some experience with at home coloring with okay results, but never this brand.
My hair is naturally a light/ash brown and I wanted a multi-tonal brunette. I focused on getting everything on my roots and saved my ends for the last 15 minutes or so since they are thinner.
The result is a rish dark brown, but still kind of flat versus multi-tonal. My biggest disappointment was that my crown has this halo, gold like brown - definitely sticks out compared to the rest of the color. Not enough to have someone fix it, but enough to wish I could afford to have it fixed.
Did not see the multi-tonal effects that everyone raves about, and don't understand why my crown came out so much lighter. May try the brand again, maybe i just picked the wrong shade. "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants01/14/11
I am so glad I read your review, as I feel we can help you achieve a better color result than you have described of your recent experience with Nice ‘n Easy Natural Medium Brown. I’m sorry your hair was darker and more mono-tonal than you hoped and that your roots do not match the rest of your hair. I can imagine your disappointment. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation when you have the chance. Thanks.
Review 5 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Dry

No More Salon for Me!

Date:02/11/11
" I have naturally blonde, thin, shoulder-length hair, and I have always just gotten highlights or all-over color from a salon. But, as a college student on a budget, it has become too expensive! After seeing the commercials and reading the information on this website, I decided to give this a try. IT LOOKS AMAZING! It came out exactly the color shown on the box, my hair feels amazing, and it was soo easy! I had about three different colors on my hair when I used this, and it all came out looking uniform (even the roots!). But the best part is, that even though it is one uniform color, it has dimension, shine, and it was a tenth of the price of the salon! I have gotten so many compliments! I am officially using this shade and brand from now on! Thanks Clairol! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Messiest product I ever used

Date:03/24/11
" I have been coloring my hair since I am 20 years old and I am now 51. I purchased this product thinking that it would be less messy than any previous hair coloring I bought. Well I was completely wrong! It was runny--the carpet, wall, countertop and my face along my hair and neck line was all stained. I actually took a shower right after I was done to scrub the stains off of my face and neck something I had never had to do after coloring my hair. The color also was a lot darker than I had expected. I had used the same shade in the non foam coloring and got complements on the shade, but this iproduct in the same expected shade of #118 was way darker than previous colorings with #118. I hope it lightens up! I will NOT buy this again! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

nice and easy foam

Date:02/23/11
" This is the worst product I have ever used on my hair. I love and use the regular nice and easy, but this foam product is terrible. You can not apply it to your roots correctly. It caked up on the hairline of my face, and I practically had to scrape it off. I can't believe I had to spend even more for this product than the other one. I can say absolutely nothing good about this product. If this is what you will be going to sell over the old product , I will be switching brands immediately. I have never written to a company before about its product, but my experience was so terrible, I felt I just had to. I also have to color my hair again, because I was unable to cover all the gray. Thank you for listening. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Extremely disappointed

Date:07/05/11
" I bought this shade because I really loved the colour on the and was hoping to get a nice reddish brown colour like on the box but unfortunately it turned out jet black!!! I had already previously dyed my hair medium brown but my hair has no trouble dying the lightest brown shades even after previously dying dark brown shades. Another thing, with brown shades I have never have this much trouble getting the dye off my hair, with this I shampooed my hair at twice in 10 hours and second time I shampooed at least ten times in a row but the water would still run red! "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants07/07/11
I’m so sorry you had this experience after using Nice ‘N Easy 118E Natural Medium Mahogany Brown. I can imagine how upsetting this must have been, especially after having to shampoo your hair twice. It’s hard to say why you had this result without speaking with you directly. We’d also like to find out more about your coloring history and hair type. If you’ll give us the chance, we’d truly like to help. You may contact one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal consultation. Thanks for sharing.
Review 9 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Dry

Worst purchase ever

Date:03/17/11
" I just tried your new Niceneasy foam haircolor kit and I am sorry to say it was a horrible experience.
I thought I was buying haircolor that was going to be much easier to apply and alot less mess and what I got was more mess, too dark of haircolor and a ruined bathrobe and a stained bathroom door and a black spot on my bathroom floor.
This product is horrible. It was half foam and half liquid and it made a horrible mess! It didn't stay on my hair as it ran down my face. I will never buy this again!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

LOVE this color

Date:01/23/11
" Although my hair did turn out darker than on the box (because I already have dark hair) I LOVED this color. Unfortunately it has been discontinued and can only be purchased online for $12 or more a box. I had finally found the perfect color because it was dark when I was indoors but when I was outdoors, the highlights gave it the red color I want. I received so many compliments on my hair color...sad to see this color cancelled. "
Review 11 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Love it!

Date:03/27/11
" I've used this color for about 10 years. Before that I dyed my hair red for 20 years. Perfect color and regardless of other reviews I don't find it messy. Hint: after mixing let it stand about three minutes, and it will thicken.
The only drawback now that I've hit menopause, is that I seem to lose a lot of hair when I dye it now. I'm searching for the same color in a gentler Clairol formula. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:New York, NY
Gender:Female

Brown hair turned black

Date:07/10/15
" For the first time, I used the Natural Medium Brown on my medium brown hair. Left on for about 20 mins and it turned my hair black. I don't have this experience with the Root Touchup product. It is really dark and black and horrible. It appears many others have encountered this problem and the only solution appears to be washing alot and waiting for it to fade out. Very disappointing. "
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Color Experts07/13/15
We can help! When you have a moment, please speak to a Clairol Color Expert at 1-800-252-4765. Hope to hear from you soon!
Review 13 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Frizzy

Most natural

Date:10/03/10
" I have tried virtually every permanent haircolor on the market for over 10 years. Some leave my hair very dry and the color is not quite what I expected or wanted - have often had to recolor. I'm sticking to Nice 'n Easy - it's always natural, has total grey coverage and most of all, leaves my hair soft and shiny. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Great color!

Date:08/31/11
" I hadn't dyed my hair at home for over 6 years, so I was nervous to try this, but it turned out great! This color covered my light brown/blonde hair perfectly. The color is slightly more red tinted than I expected, but I still really like the color, and it looks extremely natural. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:Bayside NY
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Not for me

Date:12/30/11
Pros: Gray Coverage
" I should stick with my Hydriance which I love but is getting harder to find. This product was too dark and too runny for me. My hairline was terribly stained and I had trouble getting it off. I'll stick with my Hydriance "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Frizzy

Date:09/16/10
" I was looking for a natural looking color to cover old highlights that turned brassy. Nice and Easy has given me incredble shine and color. The shade came out exactly as pictured on the box. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

1st time user very pleased

Date:03/27/10
" I was nervous as a first time do it yourselfer, but 118E turned out to be just what I wanted. I've used it again twice since then. Perfect results. Thank you, Nice N Easy...it certainly was! "
Review 18 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Oily

Great Hair Color

Date:03/03/10
" I am so happy with my results. It covered my grey and gave me highlights with depth. I feel so much better, younger and fresh. Thank you Clairol! "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname:
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Oily

Great Value & Results

Date:10/04/10
" I was amazed that I could pay so little and get such great color all over, and that i had highlights without even trying! "
Review 20 for Natural Medium Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname:
Location:poyntelle,pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female

foam

Date:10/11/11
" the color blend foam is hard to use it is to messy!!will never buy it again "
11 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/18/11
I’m sorry you had such a difficult time using Nice ‘N Easy Foam 5 Natural Medium Brown. We truly want to make this right for you, if you’ll give us the chance. Please contact our Supervisory Team at 1-800-291-7170, so we can help. Thank you for sharing.