Customer Reviews for Natural Lightest Golden Brown

Natural Lightest Golden Brown

Average Customer Rating:
2.75 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
12
13 of 28(46%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Review 1 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: curly

Brassy Red

Date:04/03/12
" Extremely disappointed with this product. Wanted to darken my color slightly, to a light shade of brown....instead I am now a brassy red-head. Completely different color from what was shown on the box. I never would have purchased this product had I read other reviews first. HORRIBLE color. I've used Nice n Easy for years and loved it....but not this color. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaëlThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants04/09/12
Hi! I know how disappointing it is when you're looking forward to trying something new, and then it doesn't meet your expectations - especially with hair color! We'd like to help you get rid of those unwanted reddish tones and get your hair back to color you want. Please speak to one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (252-4765) when you have a moment. Thanks so much for sharing your experience and we hope to hear from you soon!
Review 2 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: 80slady
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Orange!

Date:08/13/11
" Used this color expecting a light brown and have bright red/orange hair. Very embarrassing. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/15/11
Thanks so much for writing this review to share your experience with Nice ‘n Easy 114A Natural Lightest Golden Brown with others. I’m sorry the color you received with this shade has more red/orange tones than you hoped. Sometimes, lightening your hair with a golden shade can result in some reddish tones. However, this may not be what happened in your case. We would love to help you get back to a color that you love. Please contact one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) or CHAT with one of us live via Clairol.com.

Review 3 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: littlejo
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Way too light

Date:11/19/10
" Nice and Easy is by far my favorite hair color brand. I had previously used the Neutral Dark Blonde and wanted to make my color a little darker. The 114A Lightest golden brown was awful. It lightened my hair instead of making it the beautiful shade on the box. The old box was way more accurate in the orange shade pictured. Why change the model so drastically if the shade is like the old one?I will never use this shade again and really wish that I would have read the other reviews before wasting my money on it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants12/02/10
I’m so sorry you are unhappy with your color after using Nice ‘n Easy Lightest Golden Brown and will be sure to pass your comments about the model’s hair along to my colleagues. The color depicted on the front of the box is the color certain consumers will get with this shade. With such a variety of potential starting colors, it’s not possible to represent the shade all consumers will achieve. We’d love to help you get to the color you want. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation when you have the chance.
Review 4 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: mommyof2
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

did NOTHING

Date:10/15/10
" as the title says... this product did absolutely NOTHING. wasted my money & my time. i normally really like this brand but the color was ineffective. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/25/10
I’m sorry you feel that your latest experience with Nice ‘n Easy was not worth your time and money. Hair color should lift your spirits, not dampen them. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765), so we can help. We have color experts on-hand who can help you find just the right shade for you. Hope to hear from you.
Review 5 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: pamb
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Did not cover grays

Date:10/10/10
" I was very disappointed with the color. I wanted to go darker brown but my roots came out looking orange! I left it on the reccomended time for resistant grays but i still have grays at the temple. I used 114A. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/18/10
I’m sorry you were unhappy with your color after using Nice ‘n Easy Natural Lightest Golden Brown and felt the shade was too brassy for your hair. This shade does have golden tones, which might be too warm for your liking, although it is usually great for covering grays. It’s possible that the gray hair around your temples is a little more resistant than the rest of your gray hair and might require a longer processing time to be completely covered with certain shades. For resistant grays, you can leave on Nice ‘n Easy for up to 45 minutes. You mentioned that this shade was brassier than the other one you recently used. I’d like to help you get the color you want with complete gray coverage. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) when you have a moment.
Review 6 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: lark
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Frizzy

Too red!

Date:09/25/10
" The color on the box is not a true indicator of what will result. Color is not brown but red. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By Dawn The Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/06/10
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Nice ‘n Easy shade you recently used. I am not able to see what shade you tried, so I cannot determine why you had this result. I’d like to help, though. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) when you have a chance.
Review 7 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: CAgirl
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Frizzy

Too orange!

Date:09/05/10
" I came on the Clairol website to find out what to do with this color that I don't like. I reaalllyyy wish I'd checked it out before I colored. I have been using Clairol Dark Blonde with great success, but wanted to go a shade darker. The box showed what my color would be like if I put it on dark blonde. It seemed like what I wanted...darker color with some blonder highlights. AACCHH! Just as other reviewers have pointed out, there is a distinctly orange result. Where it covered my gray roots are the brightest, and the rest is auburn. So, now I have auburn blonde hair, not brown. Blondes do not look good in auburn anything! I am very, very disappointed. Now I don't know what to do with it because it's Labor Day weekend and salons, even the Clairol hotline, are closed. I'm hoping one poster's comment that it calms down will be accurate. Other than this, I liked Clairol's dark blonde color. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/08/10
I’m sorry the new shade of Nice ‘n Easy you used left your hair more reddish-orange than you expected. I can imagine how upsetting this is, especially when you have been so happy with Nice ‘n Easy Dark Blonde! I am unable to see what shade you recently tried, so it’s hard to know why you had this result. I’d love to help, though. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal consultation.
Review 8 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: knucklehead
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

shade 114A

Date:08/14/10
" This shade is poorly described on the box. The old style box showed the color match much much better. This color turned my hair RED. Not just a tint...but orange red....not brown at all. Very disappointed. I normally use the Gray solution shade 6G light golden brown, but wanted to try something just a bit lighter so I opted for the 114A Natural Lightest Golden Brown.....I am now a not so happy red head. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants08/25/10
I’m sorry you were unhappy with the color you received with Nice ‘n Easy Lightest Golden Brown (Shade 114A) and will be sure to pass on your feedback to my colleagues. I am sure it is frustrating to have your color turn out so differently than you expected. We’d like to help you get back to a color you will enjoy. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL to speak with one of our color experts.
Review 9 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Tara
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Bad Experience

Date:06/06/10
" My purpose in coloring was to cover slight graying and brighten my hair (a neutral dark blonde/light brown). I selected a color close to my natural hair color: 114A Natural Lightest Golden Brown. My hair was highlighted 5 months ago. I was hoping the "golden" would brighten the look.
IMy strand test indicated 30 minutes of process time. I aqpplied he product as directed for all over coverage. The actual result was an flat, unnatural light brown with heavy red tones. There is no color depth or contouring highlights as the product describes.
I woulod not recommend this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants06/08/10
I apologize that you did not get the results you were hoping for with Nice ‘n Easy Lightest Golden Brown. We’d like to help you, but to do so, we will need some more information about your experience. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) when you have a moment. Thank you.

Review 10 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: cella44
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

DO NOT BUY THIS

Date:05/06/10
" I color my hair at home all the time to save money and decided to go a little lighter for summer... My hair turned RED!!! The color is NOTHING like what is on the box! I followed all instructions and did everything by the book. Trust me... do NOT buy this!!!!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/10/10
I’m sorry you were disappointed in the color of your hair after coloring with Nice ‘n Easy. I can’t tell what shade you used, so it’s difficult to know why your hair is darker and has more red than you expected. I can think of a few things, though. Permanent haircoloring products do not lighten previously colored hair, which might leave your hair darker than you hoped. If your hair is porous, the color result might look darker as well. We’d like to help you, so please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL to discuss what shade you might use the next time you color.

Review 11 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: baseballfan
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Date:03/21/10
" turned my hair red. Horrible. Not even close to what the box shows. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: mrsrjwebber
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Hate it!

Date:02/24/10
" The color is horrible, not even close to the picture on the box, and I made sure that I only went 2 shades lighter. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: cyatweety
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Oily

Not good :-(

Date:04/17/11
" I will not use anything except nice n easy because they are the best brand out there. I tried the lightest golden brown and it turned my hair orange. I started with medium to light brown hair. Im embarrassed cuz i look like I seriously goofed up my hair at home. I never expected such a orange turn out. I have no idea what to do next. Im so embarrassed of the orange I dont want to leave the house. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/20/11
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with Nice ‘n Easy 114A Natural Lightest Golden Brown with others. I’m so glad you that you have been enjoying Nice ‘N Easy Color. I’m sorry, though, that your hair color result was warmer than you wanted. There are a couple of reasons why this might have happened. General y speaking if the hair color before coloring is darker than medium brown, it’s possible that this shade won’t lighten the hair enough, leaving it warmer and more orange than this shade typically would. This does not seem to be the story in your case, however. We’d like to help you find a better shade for you. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation.

Review 14 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: debber
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Frizzy

not a fan of the foam

Date:03/26/11
" Dear Clairol,
I love the Nice and Easy color blend technology. Love the highlights and lowlights and I have used this product faithfully for sometime. However, I used the foam for the first time today and I am not a fan. I had trouble with coverage, and the foam was all over my bathroom.
Will you be continuing to sell the old form to give customers a choice?
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: jamie
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

odd tones of color

Date:08/28/10
" before i dyed my hair with this shade i had dyed my hair dark brown and had grown out about an inch. when i dyed it with this shade my roots turned a light strawberry blonde color and the rest was hardly lighten at all. i was a little disappointed because it made my roots look more visable. i love this brand and only use this brand, i never thought i would get such a lacking hair color. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/02/10
I’m so glad you wrote to share your latest experience using Nice ‘n Easy with us and other hair color consumers. I’m sorry you were disappointed in your results. Often, a previous application of a dark hair color shade can interfere with a product’s ability to lighten, which might result in lighter roots and ends that remain darker. Whether you are still looking to lighten your hair or would like to keep your hair darker, we’d love to help. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765).
Review 16 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: NancyL
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Love the color not the mess/smell

Date:03/28/11
" I received a coupon for a free Nice & Easy Foam (thank you!). The color is absolutely perfect. I've been searching for the perfect color for months & this is absolutely it.
The foam was a little messier than I expected. I got it all over the bathroom, but the smell is what is bothering me most. I just washed it again & the smell is still with me. Also, it didn't cover all my grays - not sure if it was operator error or product issue. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: missvick
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Not "Foam" Me!

Date:03/20/11
" I really don't like the new foam formula. I have been using this brand and color for about ten years, and now will have to shop for something else. The foam is hard to get where I want it, repeatedly squeezing the bottle to make it foam (I have arthritis) is hard on my hands, and I don't like the way my hair feels after using it. Bummer!! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: wdfasdfasdfasdf
Location:Quartz Hill, CA
Gender:Female

not what I expected but am satified

Date:09/27/11
Pros: Tones & Highlights
" I bought this shade thinking the color would turn out to be the same color on the box, but it turned out to be a red-orange tint. Since I used this product only on some parts of my hair, I am pleasantly satified with the results although it was not what I was expecting. "
11 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: longwayfromhome
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Surprising result..

Date:08/25/10
" I bought this to do my roots from where I'd had my hair done at the hairdresser. The box picture matched almost perfectly so I was prepared for that result. After keeping the color on for 30 mins I rinsed it out and yes, it is much redder - more like the old picture on the box. However, after a couple of days it calmed down a bit. I am actually very happy with it as I think it suits me and will continue to use this shade. Next time I will leave it on longer though as although I only have a little gray, it didn't really cover it. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Natural Lightest Golden Brown
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: shel269
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Frizzy

I love this product

Date:07/08/11
" I normally have light brown hair, this product brings out the golden highlights, but actually makes them reddish. This looks so natural, most people think I'm a natural redhead. I've used this color for 8 years; please do not change the formula.... ever! "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>