Customer Reviews for Natural Dark Auburn

Natural Dark Auburn

Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
13 of 21(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. This area allows consumers like you to express their own opinions and comments. P&G does not represent or warrant the accuracy of any statements or product claims made here, nor endorse any opinions expressed within this section.
Customer Reviews for Natural Dark Auburn
Review 1 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nickname: khula
Location:Deltona, FL
Age:54+
Gender:Female

Like the Look

Date:03/04/14
Pros: Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"I trust Clairol products. My hair is mostly gray, so I have to leave the dye on longer, but the result is high-quality color on which I am complimented. I use the conditioner provider, but I do find that the color fades fast, which could be a result of the environment. I would like it if the solution were thicker and did not run quite so much. Overall, though, I recommend this product. It is almost always at an affordable price and very often on sale, and I can normally shop with coupons."
Review 2 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nickname: lindy737
Location:Cheltenham, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female

Fantastic!

Date:08/15/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft, Tones & Highlights, Natural-looking Color, Gray Coverage
"What wonderful, warm, rich color! My hair is so soft and shiny- it's incredible! The shade really makes my eyes pop! I absolutely LOVE this product! It's love at first use."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nickname: beki
Age:18-24
Gender:Female

Not GOOD!

Date:06/22/12
Pros: Made My Hair Feel Soft
"The product didn't even stay in my hair 2 weeks. It faded back to my original hair color. Very disappointed. I used nice and easy all the time to dye my hair. It was a waste of my money. Very very very disappointed with the outcome of my hair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By Jael The Clairol Color Experts08/08/12
On no! That's not good! I would love to talk to you to determine why this has happened. When you have a moment, please contact me at our Supervisory Line at 1-800-291-7170. If I am on the other line, please leave a detailed message and I will contact you as soon as I can. Hope to hear from you soon. Thanks for being a loyal Nice 'N Easy user!
Review 4 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: ERV1
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Oily

ERV

Date:08/31/11
"This is the first time I've colored my hair without trying to go lighter. My grays were covered very well. However, I might go one shade lighter next time."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: BballMom
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Frizzy

So Happy!

Date:07/15/11
"Did it all by myself, (ok daughter helped a little with the back) and I love how it turned out!"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Liah
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

First Experience

Date:06/03/11
"We all go through that horrible breakup aftermath where we change our hair or our clothes in order to forget. This is why I colored by hair, but also because the color on the box was lovely. I got beautiful results, although some parts are a bit more red than the others, but its not enough to be noticed. My relationship may be over, but at least I got a great hair color out if it!"
Review 7 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: kraizyangel
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Dry

Cant even tell i dyed my hair!

Date:05/21/11
"II have never used this product from Clairol, i usually use Balsam or Revlon Colorsilk. But my daughter used this and i really liked her results, so I thought i would give it a try too. I have been dying my hair for 15 years and lets just say, I will never again pay the extra money for a worse result than when i use the cheap stuff. I have brown hair with blonde highlights... i still have blonde highlights, but i have auburn roots and brown hair all mixed in. I hope i am able to style my hair, so when i go on vacation this weekend, no one will notice the 3 different colors i have going on!"
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants06/08/11
I read your review and am truly sorry that you had this experience with Nice ‘N Easy 112 Natural Dark Auburn . I can imagine how frustrating and disappointing this must have been. We’d like to help make this right for you. If you haven’t already done so, I ask that you contact our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765). Thank you for sharing.

Review 8 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Rebecca008
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

Natural Dark Auburn*

Date:05/15/11
"I've been using this product since 1970! It has always covered up my natural dishwater blond hair, made me look fabulous and now covers my greys*!* My Mantra is Condition b4 Length/Color. I keep my hair in tip top shape by NOT blow drying or hardly ever using any heated utensils on it, nor do I load it up with gels/mouse, NOT that this is a bad thing. However, expect to condition 2-3 X as much! I wear my hair long, to my waist w/side swept bangs Once a week I use the conditioner that comes w/the color, I always use an un-tangling spray/ir leave in conditioner*!* I wear a hat in summer for face and hair, it's Tucson, AZ! If you have highlights in your hair, you should probably see a PRO b4 you try to fix it yourself, que no? Or call the CLAIROL TIP LINE FIRST*!*"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: pinkylee
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

YUCK

Date:04/15/11
"This is the worst color my hair has come out in years. There is zero Red (and I dyed over highlighted dark red/brown hair) . It's a horrible mix of Black & Ash Brown. There are no "dimensional highlights" and I had highlighted hair prior to using this color. All I wanted to do was even out my overly highlighted hair which had gone a bit brassy and make it a more rich, darker red shade and what I got is disgusting and now have to try to fix it. I have colored at home for 30+ years and have had good and bad experiences but this is up there with the worst and ironically all the really bad dye jobs have been Clairol haircolors, my fault for giving them another try...never again."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/19/11
I just read your review and am so sorry your hair came out much darker and ashier than expected, resulting in a color that you didn’t want. I’d like to try to help you feel better about your color and about Clairol products, if you’ll allow us. Please call one of our expert color consultants at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) when you have the chance. Thank you.
Review 10 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Reed
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Orange :(

Date:03/17/11
"I color my hair at home quite regularly and always get good results. I have dark brown hair and wanted to add some red. I thought that this would give me that subtle red color. It did on my dark brown parts but my roots/ "virgin" hair it turned ORANGE. It is awful. Had to go get just some dark brown to fix. huge disappointment."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants05/19/11
I’m so sorry your hair color resulted in unwanted orange tones after using Nice ‘n Easy 112 Dark Auburn. Brassy roots can occur for a number of reasons. The color of your hair before coloring, the porosity of your hair, the application and timing of the hair coloring process all can affect the final color result you see. We’d like to help you but will need some additional information to do so properly. Would you please call one of us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for personal color consultation when you have the chance?

Review 11 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: mrsmary
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Short
Hair thickness:Thin
Hair texture:Normal

Nice and Easy #112

Date:03/05/11
"The product is very easy to use and it left my hair soft and manageable. The color was a problem for me, however. I have darkish brown hair and wanted something with a little red in it. #112 came out very orange/red. I left it on for almost an hour. It may have been better if it were a darker shade, I don't know. I called a Clairol color specialist and she advised me to cover it with #120. I hope it works or I'm off to the salon, definitely off-setting the money I was trying to save I have it for two days now and hate how it looks."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By JaelThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants04/12/11
Thanks for posting your feedback about Nice ‘N Easy 112 Dark Auburn. It’s always great to hear what our consumers are experiencing. I’m sorry to hear about the orange/red tones you got with this shade but I’m glad you are happy with the way it made your hair feel. I’m also glad that you were able to call one of expert color consultants. I would definitely like to know of the results when you tried our suggested shade Nice ‘N Easy 120 Dark Brown. Let us know when you get the chance! Thank you for sharing.
Review 12 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: laurzenheimer
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Dry
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo

questions

Date:03/02/11
"I have dyed red hair. It's a darker shade of red. A fake, eggplant look. I like it a lot. I like the "fakeness," if you will. Would using natural dark auburn make it more brown or more red? I want it to stay red."
0 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Much lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Yolanda
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Gray Coverage
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Not what I expected

Date:01/23/11
"I usually used 118E but because that was discontinued, I tried 112. I did the all over color with 112 and when I used it again for roots touch up it ended up being a completely different color than the rest of my hair. It did not cover my grays very well and what little color they did have, went away after one week. Very disappointed in this color. I will stick with the brand but find a new favorite color."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants02/01/11
I’m so sorry you didn’t get the results you were hoping for with Nice ‘n Easy Natural Dark Auburn. I know how upsetting this can be, especially when you’ve had a shade you’ve been enjoying for so long. I’m grateful you are willing to give us another try, and we’d like to help steer you toward a shade you will love as much or even more than the Medium Mahogany Brown. Please call one of our color experts at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) when you have a moment. Thank you.
Review 14 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: froglover
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

Always and forever dependable

Date:10/27/10
"I have used Clairol's nice'n easy for over 35 years and it has never failed me. I've always had a lot of red in my hair, but as I grew older it began to darken so I used the lightest strawberry blond that you had available. Then I wanted another change so I went even lighter, I believe it was in the lower 100's and it was fun to be blond and I loved it. I did it very slowly and no one even realized I was changing my hair color. I have wonderfully thick hair so when it was long, I mean really long, I would use two bottles, yes 'two', in order to get the coverage I wanted. It was well worth it, I got compliments all the time on how beautiful my hair was and still is. I used #108 for years. I'm now in my early 60's, I have a lot of white around my temple and decided to go just a little darker recently so I used #112 and 'wow' did I ever get the compliments. Everyone thought I looked much younger and I felt better about myself too. I am very fair skinned with freckles which is quite normal for a redhead, but the auburn compliments my complextion so well that I will continue to use it for many years to come I am sure. I am somewhat vain about my hair, even my hair dresser can't get over how much I have and couldn't believe I even colored it myself when I first started going to her over 20 years ago. So I am a firm believer that anyone can do it and look great all the time. I had breast cancer a few years ago and one of my best friends was my nice'n easy hair color. It lifted up my spirits during a time that was quite emotional and even when I was exhausted from the radiation, I kept up my regimen of coloring my hair.It is so easy, takes just a short time and always, always looks great."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Brittany040889
First time coloring at home:Yes
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

1st Time

Date:10/13/10
"This was my first time EVER coloring my hair at home, I wanted to try it out to help me save some money. I had picked a dark auburn color because I wanted to go darker for a change. I have pale skin green eyes and was blonde before the hair color. I applied it last night, and it is a little darker than I expected. But it covered my roots to ends all in the same shade, the red glistens in the sun beautifully, and it does not wash my skin out because of the warm red in it. I love it! And, I was terrified to color at home. I had no problem doing it myself at all, and I'm actually happier with my color than the red that I tried one time from a salon. I would also like to add that I have extremely thick hair, and there was plenty of color with the box to use on my hair which surprised me."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Extremely light
Too dark
Nickname: lin291
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Normal

weird results

Date:10/08/10
"I dye my hair at home all the time and decided to change my color slightly I wanted a color closer to my natural shade. I have naturally medium ash brown hair with slight gray and some red. My hair minus the roots was a soft medium brown shade . I applied the color for 25 minutes like the box said and found that all my gray had been covered and the part of hair that was previously dyed came out just like the box. However my roots came out kind orange like a light strawberry brown. This is much lighter than the box said, and now my roots are more obvious. I will say that my hair looks shiny and the conditioner smells great."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants10/18/10
While I’m glad you are happy with the shine that Nice ‘n Easy Natural Dark Auburn gave your hair, I’m sorry you didn’t receive a uniform color result from root to tip. I know that having your roots lighter and brighter than the rest of your hair is not the look you wanted, so we’d love to help. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) to speak with one of our color experts.
Review 17 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat darker than expected
Too dark
Nickname: Suzieoox
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Brassiness
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Thick
Hair texture:Frizzy

Dark, Dark, Dark

Date:09/20/10
"So I picked up this color because I wanted something new, but not something drastic. My hair is medium brown and it naturally has some red tints to it. So I followed the directions perfectly and now my hair is dark brown (almost black) with no red what so ever and just to add more, I only have one grey hair and the dye did not even cover it."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color COnsultants10/06/10
I’m sorry that you feel your hair color is too dark and are so disappointed in your results after coloring with Nice ‘n Easy Natural Dark Auburn. In order to determine why this happened, we’ll need a little more information, but we’d like to help. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) to speak with one of our expert color consultants.
Review 18 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: bluespectrum
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Recommendation
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Frizzy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo

Amazing, Rich Color!

Date:09/18/10
"I decided to go a little darker and a little redder for fall; my hair was becoming a little too sunned in and was a medium brown, washed out color. I tried Clairol 112 (Dark Auburn Brown) and I couldn't be happier! My hair is about two shades darker, with wine tones that catch the light beautifully."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Just as expected
Too dark
Nickname: stonemama
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Damage to hair
Hair length:Shoulder length or longer
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

A bit too dark for me

Date:09/08/10
"I was really hoping to have auburn hair, but it looks more burgundy. (I started with medium brown hair) I will say it does make hair feel very soft, and did provide excellent coverage."
Response from Clairol Perfect 10:By DawnThe Clairol Expert Color Consultants09/17/10
I’m glad you are happy with the way Nice ‘n Easy made your hair feel; however, I’m sorry you found Natural Dark Auburn (Shade 112) too dark and more burgundy than you expected. We hope you’ll give Nice ’n Easy another try and would love to help you find a better shade for you. Please call us at 1-800-CLAIROL (1-800-252-4765) for a personal color consultation.
Review 20 for Natural Dark Auburn
Overall: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely covered my gray: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shade:
Too light*
Somewhat lighter than expected
Too dark
Nickname: bbymks4
First time coloring at home:No
Decided to use Perfect 10 based on:Advertising
Biggest concern when coloring:Natural Color
Hair length:Between shoulder and ear
Hair thickness:Medium
Hair texture:Normal

first time rave reviews

Date:08/24/10
"I expect rave reviews when I go to the salon to have my hair colored, but I never have picked a do-it-at home color that was just right. That was until now. I colored my hair with 112 Nice n' Easy this weekend, and had my first experience with rave reviews less than a week later. It wasn't to dark for me and it didn't wash me out. "It looks natural. I never would have guessed it was colored." is what I was told. How cool is that?! I felt really great! I do feel great! And look great!"
1 2 next>>